i have thoroughly enjoyed my winter break. we did a lot of nothing but i don't feel like any time was wasted. it would be nice to have an additional week like we used to, but i'm actually not devastated that we have to go to work tomorrow. even though i know i'll miss the kids and spending so much time with them, i'm also happy that i'll get to see my kids at school again. it's so weird to feel this way because for the past two years i felt like teaching was becoming just a "job" and not a passion. the only sad part is that i'll have a student teacher who will be taking over 3 of my 5 classes, so that will be an adjustment for both me and the kids. we'll see how that goes...i have massive issues with giving up control so it should be challenging but hopefully a learning experience for both of us.
at the start of the break brynna was talking a little bit, words here and there, but it seems like over the course of our two weeks, she's become a lot more verbal! her first sentence was, "i like it!" in reference to the pork rinds i was giving her (lol...i know, not a nutritious food at all, but oh so yummy!). her words aren't very clear yet, but i'm hoping she'll get there soon. like with caleb, it seems like the verbal switch has been flipped and overnight she's become a little person instead of a baby...don't know how i feel about that yet...