sure seems like if it's not one kid that's sick, it's the other. yesterday caleb started an ugly cough after having some runny nose that i figured was just due to allergies and from the yucky vog and weather. last night/this morning his cough was really bad, to the point where it seemed like he couldn't breathe well because of the coughing spasms. he had a slight fever so we decided to take him to the dr since they're open and it's not a school day. dr said that it was most likely just a cold and that we would just have to ride it out. as the afternoon wore on his fever started to get higher. at around 5 when he got up from a nap coughing, he was super hot even though i had given him some fever reducer at 4 before he went to sleep. took his temp and it was 103.8...which freaked me out. his whole body was super hot so i decided to put him in a warm shower to try to bring it down. in the meantime i had dave call the dr to ask him what we should do. thankfully after the shower his fever came down to about 101 and dr called and said that his fever might go up to even 104. i asked him when i should get really worried and he said if it goes up to 105, take him to kapiolani's e.r. gosh. 105??? that's crazy high!
right now he's sleeping on the couch...before he went to sleep he was whining and wanted me to lie down by him...so i did and i was touching his face and that really pissed him off...he told me not to touch his face but just lie down next to him...lol.
i guess i better prepare myself for a rough night...poor baby...he can't clear the phlegm so he's just miserable when he starts a coughing fit and there's nothing i can really do. sucks...praying that brynna doesn't get it but with the amount of non-covered-mouth coughing this boy was doing, i'm thinking she'll end up sick too. gosh.
Saturday, October 27, 2012
Sunday, October 21, 2012
these kids
these kids crack me up and drive me mento all at the same time. i don't know if i can even begin to describe the sheer volume of both of their screeching voices and how massively irritating that piercing sound can be. when it's sounds of laughter and happiness, that's one thing, but when it's sounds of fighting, mimicking and crying, it's worse than nails on a chalkboard. i often wonder when volume control kicks in...but then i think of some adults who lack volume control so i wonder if it just never does for some people.
caleb has picked up saying, "awww, c'mon." it sounds so rude, but it is hilarious at the same time. he and brynna will be talking to each other and she'll be incessantly questioning him about things as she often does, and he'll get exasperated and say, "awww, c'mon brynna, you know (whatever it is they're talking about at that moment)."
caleb also has recently said "fricken" in the context of "stop frickin' around." i must admit that it threw me off and that i did a bad parenting move because i started laughing when i was trying to talk to him seriously about not using that word. i don't know why...i couldn't hold my giggle in for some reason. luckily, he seems to have still gotten the message that he can't say that because he hasn't said it since.
brynna is still exerting her independence...when you scold her she furrows her eyebrows and just stares at you with this angry yet blank glare on her face, then she walks away. sometimes she'll start crying and getting very pissed off, other times she goes by the door or in the bedroom and sits there like she's on some kind of self-imposed time-out. her facial expressions are classic...i wish i could catch all of them on camera!
she is also talking a lot more, but it's still suuupppeeerrr hard to understand what she's saying. the funniest was last sunday when we were at dave's parent's house and she was trying to tell her grandpa something...he couldn't understand her (none of us could) and she was getting so exasperated and trying to talk louder, slower and enunciate more but she just can't enunciate. her little eyeballs were gonna pop out of her head and she's leaning forward trying to get her point across...soooo funny!
caleb has picked up saying, "awww, c'mon." it sounds so rude, but it is hilarious at the same time. he and brynna will be talking to each other and she'll be incessantly questioning him about things as she often does, and he'll get exasperated and say, "awww, c'mon brynna, you know (whatever it is they're talking about at that moment)."
caleb also has recently said "fricken" in the context of "stop frickin' around." i must admit that it threw me off and that i did a bad parenting move because i started laughing when i was trying to talk to him seriously about not using that word. i don't know why...i couldn't hold my giggle in for some reason. luckily, he seems to have still gotten the message that he can't say that because he hasn't said it since.
brynna is still exerting her independence...when you scold her she furrows her eyebrows and just stares at you with this angry yet blank glare on her face, then she walks away. sometimes she'll start crying and getting very pissed off, other times she goes by the door or in the bedroom and sits there like she's on some kind of self-imposed time-out. her facial expressions are classic...i wish i could catch all of them on camera!
she is also talking a lot more, but it's still suuupppeeerrr hard to understand what she's saying. the funniest was last sunday when we were at dave's parent's house and she was trying to tell her grandpa something...he couldn't understand her (none of us could) and she was getting so exasperated and trying to talk louder, slower and enunciate more but she just can't enunciate. her little eyeballs were gonna pop out of her head and she's leaning forward trying to get her point across...soooo funny!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)