Friday, March 29, 2013

"i don't want my kids to be teachers"...wtf?

i keep hearing people, especially teachers, say, "my kids are NOT going to be teachers...the pay sucks."  my mom even told me that when i decided i wanted to go into teaching.  that bothers, me, though...especially hearing it coming out of the mouths of teachers.  teaching is NOT about the money.  do i wish we made more money so that we could buy a house?  yes.  would i change my profession because of that?  hell no.  to me, if you don't love what you're doing as a teacher, then get the f*** out cuz you're just doing a disservice to the kids.  yea, there's lots of stuff coming down in the doe that i don't necessarily like or agree with...but bottom line is, i love working with my kids so i'm gonna keep working with my kids.  yea, i don't technically get paid beyond my work day, so does that mean i'm not going to do more just cuz i'm not getting paid?  hell no.  since i've had kids i've set certain limits for myself and leave school way earlier than i used to when i was single, and i definitely  spend less time out of school doing work for school, but if something needs to be done or if the kids/my team needs something, i'm going to find a way to do it.  i won't force my kids to be teachers, but i hope that by the example of dave and me, they'll have hearts to help, regardless of if they're going to get a fat paycheck or not.  and i hope they learn not to be excuse-making lazy asses and to do the work, even when it's hard or inconvenient, if it means helping someone else who may not have the opportunities/home-life/comforts that they are lucky to have. 

where has the time gone?

man, i'm sucking at chronicling events of caleb and brynna lately...and i haven't updated my pics blog in forever and a day!

last week was spring break so we got to spend lots of time with the kids...went to a lot of dr appointments too.  took the kids to the zoo, which is still by far my least favorite thing to do.  it was especially hellacious cuz they were repaving the parking lot so we had to find street parking, realized we only had coins for 20-something minutes, had to grab coins and feed the meter all before entering the crowded, bird-filled zoo.  and it was HOTTER than heck.  needless to say, the kids enjoyed it, me not so much.

we went to a few softball games too because grace is playing for mckinley.  i'm impressed by her skills...wish i had an athletic bone in my body but unfortunately i don't.  hope the kids get dave's athleticism and not mine.  guess going to games inspired them, though, because when i asked if they wanted to play soccer, caleb said he wants to play baseball and brynna said she wants to play softball....GREAT...i had vowed that my kids would NOT play those sports but i guess i can't control what they want.  there's a tball i9 league coming up in the summer so looks like we'll be signing up for that...yay.

i'm thinking this quarter is going to fly by cuz it's a short quarter and the last one always goes by so quickly...that and the fact that i'm going to be hella  busy with summer school stuff.  hopefully this contract gets ratified so my responsibilities with hsta will ease up cuz that's been taking choke of my time too.  then after summer, both kids will be in school...dang!!!!  kinda makes me wish i could have another baby...yea right!!!!  ;-)