Wednesday, June 19, 2013

my little girl

brynna is getting very funny as she gets older.  she talks a lot more now, and though it's very hard to understand what she's saying, when we do get it, it's a kick to see her little personality.  she's is definitely mine and dave's...angry (me) and stubborn (dave)!!! 

yesterday i took her to school with me because i didn't want her home with caleb and my mom wasn't feeling good the night before so i figured it would be good for her to come with me...we loaded up the dvd player, toys, snacks, and a towel.  i'm in the health room so i figured she could chill on the cots and she'd be fine.  by recess, she was ready to go home, though.  she said that she was tired and she "needed a squishy bed, not a hard one."  today when i got home the first thing she tells me is, "i just want hello kitty stuff."  she says things so matter-of-factly and throws her hands out...so cute.  she gets frustrated when she can't do something and will actually fling whatever she's trying to do away from her.  not so cute, but still, cute.  she's a little bossy girl and tries to boss her brother around all the time. 

she looks so different with her little glasses.  she's been a really good girl about wearing them and hasn't given us much trouble about wanting to take them off.  in fact, i've never seen her take them off by herself...she asks us to do it.  dr said that the glasses should be enough to strengthen her eyes and help them straighten so that's a good sign. 

even though i never wanted a daughter, i'm so glad to have her.  she's my little girl and i can't wait to see how our relationship develops as she gets older. 

oops, sicker than i thought!

caleb's had a cough for about two weeks now but I didn't think too much about it cuz it wasn't too bad and he didn't have a fever.  this past friday, though, he was feverish after i picked him up from school...but that night was his graduation so we decided to give him meds and take him to graduation.  poor little guy...i felt so bad for him because you could just see throughout the entire program (which was freakin' hella long) that he was in pain.  he was singing the songs (all TEN of them!) and doing his hand motions, but he just didn't have his usual spunk while doing it.  when it was done we gave him his leis and he immediately asked to take them off and he wanted me to carry him.  we quickly got out of there, got him home, changed him, gave him medicine and he fell right to sleep.  monday we took him to the doctor and it turns out he has walking pneumonia.  he's been coughing like crazy every night...luckily brynna sleeps through it but dave and i aren't as lucky.  i feel like we're up more than we're sleeping cuz he's coughing so much but dr said the coughing will help to get the mucus out.  i doubt he'll go to school this whole week...and then next week is his last week of preschool.  i guess next time he (or bryn) has a lingering cough, we should just take them in...but i also don't like to take them in for every little thing cuz i figure they just gotta build their immunity.  i wonder if bryn will get as sick as caleb has during her first year of preschool.  she just seems to be a much hardier little girl...i really believe it's cuz she sucks her dirty thumb and builds immunity to all the germs on her thumb.  heehee. 

Monday, June 3, 2013

sleepovers at the grandparent's house

for the past two weekends the kids have slept over at their grandparent's house for one of the weekend nights.  it's a nice break for dave and i...it's just nice not to have to worry about brushing teeth, reading, dealing with the excuses of not wanting to go to bed and having to get water or another book or a certain dino or a pillow or whatever other excuse they find.  now that they're older i can deal with the separation better...if they were younger, i don't think i would allow it...lol.  even though they're not in our bed, they're still in our bedroom, so without them there it is a little lonely, though i LOVE being able to sleep in.  i suppose as they get even older there will be longer sleepovers...i'm not sure when i'll be trusting enough to let them sleep over at someone other than their grandparent's house, though.  they'll be the high schoolers that were never allowed to sleep over at their friend's houses...heehee. 

how things change...

the other week we went to the 50th state fair with some friends and their two year old daughter.  last year the kids enjoyed the rides but mainly rode with us.  last year, our friends' two year old was scared on the merry go round.

this year...fearless, independent kids!  granted, our friends' baby girl rode with her daddy, but for the most part, caleb and brynna were independent riders, which made me a little bit nervous at first.  i rode the race cars with brynna the first time because i remembered how it whipped around the corners, but besides that and the slide, they rode by themselves.  they even rode the mini-roller coaster by themselves, loving every minute (okay, ever second, cuz none of the rides really last many minutes...lol) of it. 

they were most scared in the petting zoo, which doesn't surprise me cuz i'm not to keen of the great outdoors or animals, so they don't get a whole lot of exposure.  caleb didn't like the goats with horns and brynna pretty much didn't like any of them. 

i think we'll have to take them one more time before the fair is over.  it's a lot of money, but it's a lot of fun for them so it's totally worth it. 

**another change worth noting - caleb has a little cough so last night when i was giving him cough medicine brynna asked for some.  i highly doubted she would take it, so i poured just a little bit for her and lo and behold, she drank it down like it was nothing!  remember, this is the little girl who used to make dave and i wrestle her down, hold her nose, squeeze her mouth, and force her to take any kind of medicine!  what a trip!!!!