today started out rough. actually, it started last night, before we went to bed, when my mom noticed that brynna felt feverish. we tried to give her some medicine, but being the stubborn girl she is, she didn't take it all in. she went to sleep pretty easily and all was okay...until 12:45 when dave wakes me up to tell me that brynna is burning up. at this point i feel her and she really is super hot. at first i just tell him that there's nothing we can do right now, but then it starts to worry me because every part of her body is blazing hot, even the soles of her feet. i get up, take her temperature (which is 103.1) and search for a little towel so we can wet her down a little bit. i get on the ipad and start reading up more on fevers and what we should do and after a while tell dave that we'll have to see how she is in the morning and we go back to sleep. i wake up at 5:30 before the alarm goes up cuz i'm not sure if i should try to find a sub or what. i actually text a sub at 5:45, apologizing for waking her, but seeing if she's available...unfortunately she isn't. brynna's temp at this point is 102.7. i try calling several different subs but can't find one that's available or answers the phone. we give brynna some meds despite her fighting like hell and hope that the fever goes down. i'm still torn between calling in a random sub or just going to school. i know that we most likely won't be able to take her in to the doctor until after school is done, but i also feel bad leaving her at home (even if it's with my mom). at 6:30 i dial the t-seas phone line but hang up because i know it's too late for a good sub to take the job and i'll end up with mrs. pedro or someone like that. i'm feeling super shitty about leaving brynna, especially when she starts crying and wants to be held. before we leave for school i put her in bed with her dinosaur movie on and soon after we leave she's asleep again. as soon as we get in the car i start crying uncontrollably because i feel so shitty about going to work when she's sick. usually i don't worry too much about fevers, especially with brynna, who is so tough, but for some reason today's fever had me worried. first of all, i know that if the reading we're getting on our thermometer in her ear is 103, it's probably a bit higher than that, so that scares me. on top of that, i know how she is about taking medicine so even if my mom needed to give her medicine, it's not a one-person job. i'm doing the hyperventilating cry and feeling like the frickin worst mother on earth. dave has to explain to caleb that i'm just crying because brynna is sick because caleb looks a little scared/shocked since i'm crying so hard as we drive him to school. thankfully brynna seems to be better after she wakes up from her little morning nap and by lunchtime she's asking my mom to take her walking outside. i still left school early to take her to the doctor, though, and her fever when we got there was 103.6. doctor thinks she has some kind of virus so we'll have to just ride it out. she took some medicine at the doctor's office so her fever has gone down some and i'm just praying that she heals quickly. all i know is that if i ever feel like i need to call in a sub to stay home with one of the kids, i'm doing it because the sick feeling i had in my gut is not worth it. my kids at school are important to me, but they'll survive if i'm gone for a day...my babies at home are more important.
on a funnier note, i had my first experience with having brynna pee in a cup...you think catching your own pee in a cup is hard, catching someone else's pee while you're holding her up with one hand and maneuvering the cup with the other is even more difficult. the most difficult part was just getting her to agree to shishi, though, as she screamed bloody murder for i don't know how long in the bathroom until i figured out that she would only go once i took the "just in case" bucket out of the toilet. needless to say, i got a whole lot of pee on my hand, but at least i got enough in the cup for them to test.
No comments:
Post a Comment