so i haven't been on here forever, but maybe what i need to keep my sanity is some vent sessions through cathartic writing.
anytime one of the kids is sick, chaos ensues. first caleb was sick, and though he gets sick a lot more often than brynna, dealing with his sicknesses is much easier because he's so good with taking his medicines. after just marveling at how caleb is sick so often and brynna had yet to be sick since starting preschool, she caught his bug. i'm not sure if it's because she hasn't had a flu shot, but her sickness is a lot worse than caleb's was. what doesn't help the situation is that she HATES taking meds and it's a struggle to get her to take anything. she's been home all week....fever, cough, galas, and today, BARF. she ate her soup and rice like a champ, then proceeded to spew barf on the couch and then again on the bathroom floor. cleaned up, bocha'd her, put the gross stuff in the wash...gave them m&ms for dessert. approximately five m&ms in, BARF again. all over the carpet (chocolate and chicken noodle soup makes for some disgusting barf!)...take her to the bathroom and she hurls a good one, but luckily she was in the tub. clean up again and at this point i tell dave to brush their teeth and put them in bed cuz i'm done.
when i was younger (and much, much stupider), i used to say that if i didn't find a husband, that would be fine and i'd just get pregnant somehow and be a mommy cuz that's the one thing i wanted most. oh boy was i stupid. as i'm taking on more of the responsibilities just because dave is physically unable to, i just can't imagine a life of doing every freakin' thing all by myself with no one to rely on. i'm lucky because i have my mom here with me to help me with stuff, but having a husband is a really great asset also. i should clarify - having a helpful husband is a great asset.
so i guess what i'm learning is this...as much as dave pisses me off sometimes, and as much as i hate having to tell him what to do, i soooooo appreciate having a husband who is helpful. and although this won't stop me from getting mad when he's sitting with his leg up and i'm making breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, washing dishes, cleaning, bochaing the kids, doing the grocery shopping, and everything else...i do have to be thankful.
No comments:
Post a Comment