Friday, October 31, 2008

Dang, my feet and legs are swollen. I never had skinny legs to begin with, but now I'm seriously having cankle issues. Lovely. And midget feet swollen isn't too pretty either. Oh well. At least my toenails look nice.

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Doctor today. Weighed in at 135. What the heck. If I started at 105, which is what I'm using cuz I don't really know what I started at, that means 30 pounds!!! 4 pounds since last weigh in. Dr. said it's not bad and that I'm probably retaining more water, hence the swollen legs and feet. Great. I just hope to keep it below a total weight gain of 40 pounds at this point. That's my goal.

Next doctor in two weeks...he warned me that gone would be the "just listen to the heart" check ups and he's actually going to have to do some probing at that time. Wonderful. Yuck. I guess I shouldn't be scared of his probing cuz that's going to be nothing compared to Caleb coming out of there. I still can't imagine what giving birth will be like and I'm super curious to see what kind of birthing woman I'll be and what kind of birthing coach man Dave will be. After this next doctor visit the countdown will really be on cuz that'll mean once a week visits from then on out. It's a trip to think we have only about 6 weeks left until the due date. Dang.

I didn't get a good night's rest last night...went to bed early, then when Dave came in I got up and couldn't go to sleep til probs after 12. Great. That means tomorrow is going to be a hellacious day. Read half of a novel I started yesterday...thank goodness I had something good to read cuz otherwise I would have been even more irraz. I actually even got out of bed, made myself some chicken broth, and ate a little bit with rice cuz I started getting hungry after being up. I guess things like that don't help toward the whole weight gaining thing.

Anyways, I'm about to get in bed soon. Dave better not wake me up tonight.

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Yesterday was another painful Monday. My back is getting ridiculous. Never help that I did a heck of a lot of walking around. Oh well. Today is better.

People keep asking me if I'm ready, if I have everything I need...I seriously don't know the answer to those questions. I've never had a baby before so I have no idea what "ready" is. I know I don't have everything I need...I just don't really know what else I need. I was looking at coupons I clipped...I gotta start looking for sales of shampoo, soap, desitin, and lansinoh. And pantiliners. Bought a double pack of overnight pads from Costco...I dread that I'll have to go back to having a period...it's so nice not to have a period every month. I just hope it goes back to being as regular as it was before I got pregnant.

I saw a college friend who said she just gave birth six weeks ago. She looked pretty normal sized. I'm hopeful that I'll be normal sized after six weeks. She said she gained 28 pounds total. I've gained about 28 pounds already. 45 more days to go.

I'm hoping the doctor will be able to give us a better idea of when baby is going to come and how big he'll be. So far he's been very vague...just that I'm not too big, baby is growing well/normally...dunno what that means.

Talked to Blake today...Allison is such a calm, good baby. I told Dave that we better be prepared for a fussy, hellacious baby. He was a fussy baby and his mom has always told him that she hopes he has a child just like him so he will know what they went through with him. Sheez, looking at the way Dave is, I do hope we have a child like him more than a child like me. It'll save us a lot of headaches. Nah, actually, I want a child with a lot of spirit...and if Caleb's moving around is any indication of his temperment and activity level, he's going to be a handful.

Sunday, October 26, 2008

Today Caleb has been moving around choke and I think I've been having a lot of practice contractions. I dunno what the deal is. It's been an uncomfortable day. Add to that the fact that I ate non-stop from the time I got up until now (breakfast croissant, popcorn and arare, choc chip muffin, hot chocolate, saimin)...so now I'm paying for it with some major heartburn. Caleb has been hurting my left rib for the past hour or so...he keeps running his foot or something on it. He must be getting big and running out of room. According to the book he's anywhere from 3-4 pounds now and 17-19 inches (probs shorter than that). Nutts.

We have 7 weeks left...47 more days until our due date. That's crazy. Luckily my mom was here this past week so she washed all of Caleb's clothes and organized them. Hehe. I still gotta do the sheets and blankets but that can wait for a little while. We have another doctor's appointment on Wednesday...we'll see how much weight I gain by then and whether we have to start our once a week appointments from here on out. That's going to suck to have to drive to town every week but at least gas is getting cheaper.

Sunday, October 19, 2008

Caleb has mastered the art of running his arm or leg across the width of my belly, sometimes attacking me so hard that it makes me yelp out loud. It's not sore-sore, just uncomfortable and surprising. I've noticed a perpetual side pain in my right side at this one certain place(ribs and back). Nothing, not moving, not stretching, seems to alleviate it. Oh well.

My line has migrated above my belly button and halfway up to my boobs. Here's what my tummy looks like right now from a front view. The ugly thing above my protruding belly button is my scar from my belly ring.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

My back is so freakin sore. My side is so freakin uncomfortable. My belly is so stretched. If I stand, I'm sore after a while. If I sit, I'm sore after a while. I'm just sore. Lying in bed is sore. Lying on the couch is sore. Lying on the floor is sore. Frick.

I weighed in at 131 today. I'm sure that doesn't help. If I started at around 105 (that's a guess), I've gained 26 pounds in 32 1/2 weeks. Grrrreat.

One of my kids brought me a big diaper bag of gifts...his mom told me that the boy told her they need to give me a gift already because he doesn't think I'm going to last till I'm due because I look so big already. Wonderful. Hehe. It's funny, cuz I don't particularly think that this boy really pays attention to me, but his mom said that he was really stoked when he first found out his teacher was pregnant. Funny.

I really thought I'd be one of those women who love pregnancy...but I'm not. Not at this point anyways. I just feel yucks and uncomfortable and it takes away from the feeling of being excited that baby is almost here.

Monday, October 13, 2008

Wow...I've actually started to feel those Braxton Hicks contractions. It's weird. My stomach just gets rock solid and super tight. I haven't been keeping track of how often or when it happens...I figure as long as it's not sore and not happening at regular intervals then I'm all good. So far it's just every once in a while and it's uncomfortable but not painful.

We're in our 32nd week now...that's nutts. Quarter One flew by, and to think that by the end of this second quarter I'll be a mommy is pretty amazing. My linea nigra is halfway up to my boobs now, so I figure when it gets all the way to the top it'll be time to pop. I'm so thankful that so far no stretch marks...but you know, since I just wrote that, guaranz some going pop up this week.

The other night I had swollen legs and feet for the first time. My feet have been swollen before, but not my legs. Both were grossly swollen. I think it was due to eating a lot of salty foods the previous night. Another thing I noticed one day was that just lying around, my pulse started racing. I counted and it was at like 100 something. I had to have Dave check for me too cuz I thought I was trippin but it really was that high. So far my blood pressure and heart rate when I've gone to the doctor have been all good...gotta remember to tell him about that at our next doctor appointment.

We're now on the every two weeks doctor appt schedule so we go again on Wednesday. I'm just glad Dave goes with me to every one. I would hate having to drive and go all by myself.

That's it for now. Break is over and it's back to the real world...which actually might be good cuz I won't even have time to stress about baby cuz school will take up most of my energy.

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Okay, I know that I shouldn't use pregnancy as an excuse, but seriously, I've been hella grouchy for the past couple days. Like snappy as heck...Dave doesn't hear my question/comment the first time, I'm barking. His cereal sits in his bowl a little too long for my taste, my panties are all in a bunch. Stupid teachers can't read their damn lotus notes and realize for the five hundredth time, yes, there IS period 6 on Friday, all classes on Friday means that we have all the classes that were scheduled for a regular Friday, not ALL freakin' classes...and I'm ready to climb over the seven tables that separate me and them and freakin' slap the crap out of their heads. I actually said "shut the hell up" so loudly that Kathy looked at me in a funny way across the table which clued me in that I had pulled a Zoller and did not use my volume control. I don't even want to be this grouchy...and I do feel bad for what Dave has to put up with, but seriously, it's more uncontrollable than it's ever been before. I know I'm bad, but I've been trying to be better, but yesterday and today it was ridiculous. Let's hope this break calms me down cuz I feel myself even getting more snappy in class...and I really don't want to take my hormones out on my wonderfully good kids. Breathe, count to ten, breathe again. Grrrr.