Monday, November 16, 2009

Before I go nene and put this to rest for good, I have to write it out...

Today my kids pissed me off. I haven't been this pissed off at them for a while. I literally HATED them today. I HATED their attitude toward life in general. I HATED their complacency and apathy.

3 of my 5 classes had homework over the weekend (the other two finished the work in class cuz we had an extra day with them last week). They had to freakin' finish their worksheet...which we started in class...we read and discussed the article and went over every single question together...they just had to finish it...

Period 1 - 8 out of 26
Period 2 - 2 out of 13
Period 5 - 7 out of 19

Piss me off. I gave them my lecture, with the whole, "I cannot believe you guys...it sickens me...this is ridiculous...it's not about one assignment, it's about the attitude you have toward life..." I made eye contact and gave them the full on disappointed look. How many of them are thinking about it right now or even attempting to do their damn homework??? Maybe 3...if I'm lucky.

WTF???? I asked my mom how she knew I was doing my homework when I was in school...she said she didn't. Dave said his parents didn't really get on his case about it either. So why did we do what we had to do???? Cuz our parents struck the fear into us early on...if we didn't do what we were supposed to do, we would get lickens.

Lickens solves all evils...lol. But for reals, an occasional beat down, in my opinion, works. I got lickens (mainly slaps on the face, pinches on the arm or wherever, and punches on the arm) until I was a freshman in college, and I bet if I acted super stupid, my mom would still hit me today. Dave got lickens...the kine with the belt and whatever else could be found. Did we act dumb? Sometimes, but not to the extent where we were totally off the right path in life...

So...Caleb and Baby...expect some lickens in your life...cuz I am NOT going to have a child who acts like some of these damn kids do...my kids are gonna have the fear struck in them...lol.

4 comments:

Mrs. Tamashiro said...

Sorry, I know it's not supposed to be funny, but I'm laughing. I knocked the crap out of Kahia several times this weekend. Funny, he's been pretty good.

Jay says that since he can't "strike the fear" in the kids at school, he strikes the fear in their bags, damn it!

Anonymous said...

Well thank god! lol I'm so tired of parents who are afriad to uphold their authority... and parents who are afraid to set boundaries. Enough already! My children are 3 and 1, and you better believe... they know when they have crossed a line. Even the 1 year old straightens up right away. and no, I don't beat them to death. lol An occasional swat does a world of good.

John Woodard said...

I don't have kids, so for the love of god don't make it part of childhood to be a punching bag.

Freethinker said...

I am very strict with my 7 year old daughter to do her homework. The second she gets off that bus, she sits down at the kitchen table and does all of her assignments. I know a lot of parent's don't regulate their child's homework because they feel all of that responsibility is on the teachers. Some, sadly just don't give a rip. School is the stepping stone for your child's success in the future. That being said, I would think that would be a parent's top priority for their children.