Saturday, February 27, 2010


this is brynna...



this is caleb...

don't they look the same???

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

yup, caleb's rash is roseola...will probably get worse (move from trunk to extremities and face) and then get better...nothing we can do, shouldn't be itchy, but may cause fussiness. he was a kind of fussy guy today...taking a long nap right now cuz he decided at 1:00 a.m. that he was ready to be up so was up for about 45 minutes before going back to sleep in his crib.

i kind of get embarrassed when we go to the doctor. caleb screams bloody murder, even if the doctor is not doing anything invasive or sore. he senses from the moment that we get in the room that something is not right and hangs on for dear life. once doctor touches him, he starts screaming like he's being killed. it's nutts. i'm sure doctor has seen kids like this before, i just feel shame, though. gosh, why he gotta be so high strung like me??? lol.

another embarrassing thing...caleb always has the biggest ear doodoos ever. doctor somehow digs those crusty suckers out and i'm always amazed. then, today, he also had huge crusty boogers in both noses that doctor had to dig out...i'm talking some pebble sized boogers, hard as rock. i dunno how come it gets like that...i dunno how he breathes with those things in his nose. sheez, is my house that dirty???

i'm thankful that what caleb has is mild, no chicken pox or measles, and that he'll be over it in a few days.

Monday, February 22, 2010

caleb has a rash on his stomach, back, and face...my mom started to notice it on his face and when i checked his body, there they were. it's like pinkish spots...not raised or pus-filled (i almost wrote pus-sey!!!). google is the shiznit, though, and leish mentioned roseola and when i read the description, that seemed to fit. he had fever for the past couple days, then today, no fever, but rash. i'm taking him to the doctor tomorrow to check it out in case anyways, but hopefully it's just harmless roseola and not measles or chicken pox!

i think caleb's first real word is "ball." it's the first word he seems to understand the meaning to. he still says "dada" and "daddy," but with no understanding of what it means. he says "baba" a lot too, which my mom was trying to teach him as "gramma" but with no understanding. i know he understanding "mummum" but he doesn't use it all the time. signing "please" and "thank you" hasn't really stuck with him either.

ultrasound today...doctor sure doesn't understand how uncomfortable it is to have that thing jammed hard on your belly. he figured out, who knows how, that brynna is about 7 lbs. 3 oz. now. that's a good pound and a half smaller than caleb, thanks to diet!
oops, the black pictures is 39 weeks with brynna...

Sunday, February 21, 2010


this is 39 weeks with caleb...



this is 38 weeks with brynna...

at my doctor's appointment on thursday my weight was 141...same exact weight as when i gave birth to caleb. i was also 4 cm dilated and 50% effaced. we were a little bit surprised and i think doctor was thinking i'd be giving birth soon...he had 3 deliveries in the past 24 hours. that, obviously, did not happen.

we didn't do a whole lot this weekend...stayed home except for going to costco today cuz caleb has a fever. he seems to be getting better but still not 100%. the nice thing was that he took naps so i got to take some nice naps too. i can't believe how incredibly tired i am. this week of school is not going to be pretty, but thank GOD i am not in the classroom because i don't think i could do it. i'd be exhausted.

tomorrow is my ultrasound. i really don't think brynna is as big as caleb...even if i am the same weight, i didn't start at the same place for both of them so i'm thinking she'll be at least a pound less. we'll see, though.

should be an interesting week...we'll see what happens...

Friday, February 12, 2010

bon jovi was not bad...i mean, it was a really good concert, considering he sang for almost 2 1/2 hours...worth it...even though i knew three songs total...we got home at around 11:30...but then I couldn't freakin' go sleep and woke up at 700 a.m. anyways cuz i had to take my blood and make breakfast before dr.

next time c and k plays at the shell, dave's going to go with me!

dr this morning....still 138...dilated 2 cm...he thinks brynna won't come before our next dr's appt on thursday. her heartbeat sounded better today, so i think last time was just a fluke. feeling for dilation sucks big time...

i'm hungry...gonna go find me some non-carb food...yay...lol.

Thursday, February 11, 2010

yesterday someone asked what we're doing for valentine's day...my response was, "we're married." i don't know that i've ever been that big on valentine's day....i know i wouldn't go out to eat on that night cuz that's just too crazy, never been that big on getting flowers...i remember chilling at leish's house one valentine's day with nan, pua, and leish and eating korean and watching a movie...that was cool...lol. i also remember going to eat at kahala mandarin one year...must have been 2006...cuz that's when we got engaged...don't remember very many other valentine's days besides that....

tonight we get to go to a bon jovi concert...guess that's our valentine's celebration. yay. dave was so excited when he heard they were going to be in concert and really wanted to go...we don't often do "fun" stuff just me and him and the tickets weren't that expensive, so i gave in and said okay. needless to say, i haven't been looking forward to this day. first of all, i know i like some of their songs, i just can't ever remember which ones. bon jovi, aerosmith, guns and roses...they're all pretty much the same to me...can't differentiate who sings what song. i often forget which group rock of love bret michaels is from...lol. ask me who's in bon jovi, i can't tell you except i know that one of the guys' names is jon bon jovi....i think.

being from maui, we didn't get a lot of concert opportunities...i've been to lots of local concerts, but besides hootie and the blowfish when the maui arts and cultural center first opened, haven't been to any "mainland" concerts. even when i was on the mainland, i only went to kapena concerts...

i'd be much more stoked if we were going to a cecelio and kapono concert, or if somehow billy kaui could come back alive and perform with country comfort. or even kealii reichel...way more stoked to watch him!

but anyways, dave is excited, he wants me to enjoy myself, so i will try to curb my grouchy face and just make the best of it. however, thinking about the fact that the concert starts at 730, which i'm told means the concert actually starts at 900, just makes me incredibly tired. i wanna be getting into bed at 900, not out with intoxicated, excited peeps yelling and screaming. boy, i must be getting old...lol. i can't even enjoy some ono snacks while we're at the concert...sheesh.

Sunday, February 7, 2010

was 138 again at our check up on Thursday. guess the diet and exercise is helping. in talking to deena, i realized that i gained about 36 lbs in my pregnancy with caleb, and only 21 lbs with brynna so far. of course, i started much lighter and probably needed to gain more weight with caleb than with this one, and with the gestational diabetes, gaining weight is not easy.

did the strep b test...never fails that when i know he's gonna be doing something in my butt, i get gassy and think i'm going to explode a fut in his face. luckily, i didn't.

doctor said brynna's head is pretty far down already, but not dilating yet. this time her heartbeat seemed irregular...he said that since the ultrasounds have been good so far, we'll just wait until the ultrasound on the 22nd to verify. i think it's just that he has a crappy monitor thing and brynna was not positioned well.

the ultrasound on the 22nd should help determine when she'll arrive...if she's big, they may schedule me early, if she's not, we'll probs just wait until she's ready, but no later than my due date cuz of the diabetes.

i'm lazy and tired. walking is not happening very often, but the blood sugar seems to be doing okay. i'm getting hungrier, though, so we'll see how it goes in these last four weeks. i'm getting hella tired of eating almonds, granola bars, and peanut butter.

as for caleb...he's one funny boy. very adventurous, great at mimicking, and very tempermental. i can just imagine him in the toy store, throwing a fit...he'll be one of "those kids". He loves to climb everywhere, loves remotes, and is now learning to put things away (if he wants to). He's so cute when he puts his books away and claps for himself, or takes out all my makeup brushes and then puts them back in the container and claps. I'm not very good at words of affirmation, so good thing he affirms his own actions...lol. he's starting to "help" with laundry, putting the clothes from the basket into the washer now that he can reach. he'll also put his toys in the washing machine so we better remember to check for them before we do any loads. he's had a runny nose for the past couple days...how to teach a kid to blow their nose is beyond me...oh well. i still can't imagine what his reaction is going to be when we bring brynna home. his biggest challenge right now is food...he will eat continuously and will still start throwing a tantrum when he knows his meal is pau. he also doesn't believe in putting one thing or one little bit in his mouth...he likes to stuff his mouth, then choke. dave says he gets this food temperment from me, cuz i get hella grouchy when i'm hungry too. lol.

yay, super bowl today...which means no more football for a while!!!! dave is going to take caleb up to his parent's house and stay there to watch the game...and i'm going to correct papers, watch some non-superbowl tv, and hopefully take a nice nap. yay.