Thursday, August 26, 2010

firsts

brynna ate rice cereal for the first time today....and caleb doodoo'd in the potty for the first time (at our house...he did it once at the colmenares').

Sunday, August 22, 2010

long weekend....long week ahead!

this weekend was nice...three days was much needed! friday we corrected our papers so we wouldn't have to worry about it after that. we also ran errands and i had to do a half scrub of the kitchen floor cuz i busted a soda open...lol.

yesterday we had a birthday party to go to. i trip on one year old birthday parties...so much to do!!!! caleb had fun running around and only fell once, so that was good. he jumped in the bouncer, ate a bag of popcorn (kay, half a bag, but still...he eats popcorn like me...not eating, inhaling!), ate some cake with coconut on it (blech). he had no attention span for the magic show or the slide show...of course. brynbryn was good for the most part...slept, ate, made a big doodoo, just chilled like her usual chill self. after that we headed from schofield to manoa so he got a little bit of a nap in on the drive. picked up tash, headed to whole foods and spent a nice chunk of change for the pesto ingredients (worth it, but still...).

today caleb went to church with grandma and grandpa c while i vacuumed and wiped down everything in our bedroom. yesterday we noticed that brynna seems to have allergies or is catching a cold...she had red, watery eyes which she kept rubbing and she kept sneezing. today she wasn't as bad, but still rubbing her eyes a lot. i figured cleaning could only help the situation so we'll see. washed our bedding and got rid of a couple bags of trash and a couple bags of donations.

this week should be interesting. tomorrow evening is caleb's first families for real class at pches. we don't really know what it's going to be like but the range is from 6 mos to 4 years so that should be interesting. we're taking caleb to this first class, but after this one i think the grandmas, or at least grandma c, will be taking him instead. we'll see. tuesday i have class, which hopefully isn't listening to peeps just read from the same handouts that we already got. wednesday tash has a volleyball game at roosevelt so we'll see how brynna is and if we want to go watch. thursday is my mom's bday, and then we'll all be happy to see friday again!

Friday, August 20, 2010

pesto!!!

finally bought a food processor...i've wanted one forever and the last time it was on sale at macy's i almost bought it but didnt...so i've been telling myself that the next time it goes on sale, i'm getting it!!!! it's a 7 c cuisinart...i've read reviews and it said that one is good.

my first attempt at using it will be to make pesto tomorrow...i'm going to go to whole foods, buy me some basil, nuts, parm cheese and garlic, and try to make ina's recipe. we'll see how it goes. i'm really freakin' excited!!!!

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

still awake...

brynna must have had a sore stomach this morning because she woke up at around 330, ate some, and then started crying every time we put her down to sleep. we figured it was because she needed to burp, so we kept picking her up to burp her. she'd fall asleep a little bit, then we'd put her down and she'd cry again. after a while i put her on her back and she continued to whimper. finally i took her out of the bedroom and closed our door and my mom's so they wouldn't wake up. eventually she made doodoo and went back to sleep. garsh. by that time it was after 5am and i knew if i went back to sleep i'd wake up more tired.

so it's 530 pm no and i'm tired. i just ate dinner, gonna bocha caleb when he's pau eat, and hopefully we'll be in bed at around 8. this week's killer, even if it's a short week. yesterday and tomorrow i'm teaching with leish in pd 5 avid, today was a no prep day, and thursday we have team meeting during pd 5 and tutoring after school...so it's a no prep week...nutts. oh well, it makes the week go by faster!

more?

i think caleb doesn't know when he's full. today when we came home from school i was eating some grape tomatoes. he wanted some. i gave him some. he wanted more. i gave him more. he seemed hungry so i warmed up some leftover noodles we had. he ate it all. at about 5 pm i was hungry, so i warmed up our leftover spaghetti. he wanted some. he ate more.

i'm sure i could tell him no and not feed him and he wouldn't starve. but i also know that if i'm hungry, it pisses me off if i can't eat. i don't want him to think he has to sneak food or something like that.

as i'm writing this, dave is strapping him into his eating seat cuz he wants to eat rice. he also drinks about a gallon of milk a week.

seriously, i dunno how much is too much.

Sunday, August 15, 2010

piss me off

yesterday i was soooo happy because when i woke up, it was 7 a.m. that's bliss. that's the amount of "sleeping in" we get to do.

this morning i was soooo pissed off because brynna woke us up at 445 and didn't want to drink or go back to sleep. put her on the bed with us where she proceeded to kick and kick and kick...and she kicks hard so there was no sleeping for dave and me. finally i took her out in the living room so dave could sleep some...one of us had to get some sleep. after a while she was not content to lie by herself so i had to pick her up...and i was so freakin' tired i tried to make her content by just sitting her up while i lie down but she wasn't having it. she made me think she was going to sleep a couple times, but when i put her down she started crying. i definitely did not want caleb waking up earlier than necessary, so i didn't want her crying loud. finally i flung her on the bed and told dave to take her. i got to rest for a bit more, but not very long.

she's been waking up at least once, sometimes twice a night. it sucks royally. her problem is that she's not an eater like caleb, so she doesn't take in enough during the day to hold her through the night...and you can't force her to drink. i'm really, really, really hoping that doctor will let me start giving her rice cereal after her six month check up and that will help the sleeping.

she really is a very good girl, but this lack of sleep is making me nutts.

Friday, August 13, 2010

two weeks

two weeks of school done. been a LONG two weeks, let me tell you!

maui last weekend was nice...caleb, brynna, dave and i all slept in one room so that was interesting, but not as bad as i thought it would be. caleb enjoyed gramma rose's house because he could run around and reach the doorknobs. lol. he seemed to get along with troy okay, and observed many of the things he was doing. both were fairly good on the plane ride there and back, though brynna did cry a bit before we landed on maui and caleb couldn't sit still to save his life.

mommyhood and work is tiring, but so far it's been okay. i haven't cooked much since we've been back from maui, but i'll get back into rhythm this week. if brynna would sleep through the night it would be very helpful, but no such luck. last night she freakin' woke up 2 or 3 times...i'm so tired i can't even remember what it was.

caleb is still obsessed with oobi. he pinches his finger and thumb together to "sign" oobi, and brings you the remote and points to the list button to indicate that he wants you to replay one of the dvr'd oobis. my poor mom watches oobi many times throughout the day. i gotta get him hooked on something that's at least more educational.

the parking is finally freakin' finished in our area. goodness gracious it took long enough.

yesterday there wasn't water...a pipe busted or something. plus we had open house so more so that sucked. luckily, though, we didn't have to take the kids to go bocha at dave's parent's house cuz it came on right before we got home from open house. thank GOD.

i'm so all over the place in this post that i'm irritating myself. i'll write when my brain is actually working...though who knows when that will be...lol.

Thursday, August 5, 2010

LONG week

soooo...brynna decided that sleeping through the night was not her thing...so she is continuing to wake up at least once, sometimes twice, a night. grrreat. even though she goes right back to sleep after drinking her milk, i often can't go right back to sleep and end up wasting precious sleep time.

needless to say, i have yet to wake up early to exercise. lol.

i think doing these activities was even more tiring than actually teaching. acting like i'm all happy and into these bonding activities tired me out completely. if i had to work at the disney store and act happy all day i think i might go mento. i look forward to actually teaching next week.

last grumble...having an inclusion class and a pins/sped class and lots of other "involved" parents makes for many, many meetings. we had one on tuesday, another one today, one more on monday, another on thursday, and then another on friday. sheesh. i can just imagine when the actual iep meetings start rolling around. nutts.

caleb had a rough day today...cranky lil bugger. for some reason he didn't want to go to sleep last night, nor did he want to take a nap today. finally right before we got home from work he fell asleep.

his new obsession is oobi on nick jr. i must say, it is kind of a cute show. for some reason he MUST stand directly in front of the tv....like not even a foot away from it. he's mesmerized by the hands with eyes on them. ooobi, oobi oobi oobi oobi...he's got a lot to see, he's got a lot to do, and he's always with you....uma's his sis, he's big, she's small, kinko is his very best friend, grampoo loves them all. can you tell i've watched it a lot?

this trip home this weekend is going to be interesting. i pray brynna and caleb do good on the plane...coming back on monday so we'll miss one day of school. then we have open house on thursday...yay. two day weekends are just too short. lol.