Monday, November 29, 2010

brynna...9 months old already!!!

bryn-bryn had her 9 month check up today and here's the updates...

she's 29 inches long...90th percentile.

she weighs 19 lbs 6 oz...50th percentile.

her head is 17 inches...25th percentile.

she got poked for blood to check her iron, which was fine, and two shots for her vaccinations.

D=dave said when doctor did the tests to see if she would track an object as he moved it around, she would look at the object, then back at doctor, then at the object, then back at doctor...like she was wondering what this guy was doing. lol.

her orange, sticky ear gunk is all good...and he reminded dave to remind me not to stick stuff in there...just clean the outside part.

i'm wondering when she'll start to fuss about going to the doctor. So far I think she's still oblivious of where we're at...maybe when she's one she'll start to fuss...

like mother, like son

i'm highly irrational and prone to bouts of intense anger.

caleb is almost two years old and just like me.

everyone says two is bad and three is worse...yikes.

everyone also says that payback is inevitable...super duper yikes.

caleb is starting to show us just what FITS are. like everything says, it comes more at times when he's overly tired...today his nap was early so i suppose that's why he was so fit-erific.

hopefully he'll go down easy tonight instead of futting around with this and that in his room after he's put to bed.

Sunday, November 21, 2010

barfing on demand

caleb and brynna are different in many, many ways. one major difference is their eating habits.

caleb scarfed everything we gave him. milk, baby food, regular food, everything. he loved vegetables and will even eat grape tomatoes with me. he's getting a little bit more picky as he gets older, but he still has a big appetite. his favorite right now seems to be bread...any kind of bread. he's a starch boy and loves his rice too, even if it's brown rice. in fact, i think he likes our brown rice mix more than regular white rice because he doesn't like the way white rice sticks on his hand. caleb even used to love taking his vitamins at night...it was just another form of food to him.

brynna, on the other hand, isn't such a wonderful eater. she used to spill her milk all over the place and still often doesn't finish a bottle, even if it's only a 3 or 4 oz one. (at this age, caleb could easily drink 6 oz at one time.) she's eating better now, but will make a very funny face when introduced to something new. and when she really doesn't want to eat it, you better watch out because she will make herself barf. and not just nice little spit up barf....no, she does the dry heave followed by projectile barfing of the entire contents of her stomach. she did this several times when we tried to give her vitamins and even did it for the nurse when the nurse tried to force her to take the rotovirus vaccine, which is an oral vaccine. once i was feeding her carrots and she apparently didn't like that. the other day i tried giving her these yogurt melt things and after making her yuck face she proceeded to dry heave and barf her brains out.

for a couple weeks now i've been making her chicken, rice and broccoli for her lunch and dinner. tonight i made her beef, rice and carrots...so we'll see how she does tomorrow. at least she still had enough chicken mix for lunch so my mom won't have to deal with the barf and we'll see how she takes it for dinner.

i wonder if this will continue into toddler and childhood...yuck.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

long week

it's been a long week.

earlier this week i got super pissed at a class because they were grumbling about not qualifying for incentive day...yea, you no even turn in your damn work and you expect to freakin' qualify for incentive...idiot.

yesterday i lost my cool (big surprise) and got into a power struggle with a kid, resulting in me YELLING at him, taking him outside, giving him the "I'm tired of bending over backward for you only to have you come in my classroom and act like a jerk" talk, and then not being able to go to sleep last night because i kept thinking about how that situation was so bad, could have easily escalated into me getting punched, and did absolutely nothing to help the situation.

i've been getting super sassy with my kids, my eyebrow is stuck in perma-up position, and i feel pissy a lot. i've had to talk to three parents this week, and two were pretty irritating.

every night this week i've forced myself to correct some papers so i don't get swamped in a mountain of revisions. last night i drank a soda late to try to make me stay up so i could correct papers...ended up lying down with caleb to put him to sleep and fell asleep myself for about an hour, resulting in nothing getting done.

tonight...i ain't doing jack. imma cruise on the internet, watch my dvr'd csi, and read my book. i didn't even cook dinner. crap, i still gotta make brynna's food, though...well, that'll be my one productive thing at home today.

Monday, November 15, 2010

no sleeps

soooo...caleb has been having some issues with sleeping. i'm not quite sure why...maybe an exertion of his independence??? anyways, saturday night he went to sleep after 11p and woke up at 6a. he fools around in his room, has to be put back into bed multiple times, and just won't go to bed. sunday we figured he'd be a cranky butt, but he was spending the day with grandma and grandpa colmenares and he often takes looooong naps while he's with them. that day, however, he took a cat nap in the car on the way home with them and didn't want to nap after that. dave picked him up around 5p and went to put gas...caleb fell asleep on the way to gas station and didn't wake up until 245a (this morning). he came to our bed, asked for milk, got some water, and we went back into his room. i fell asleep, apparently he didn't. at 4a when brynna woke up to drink milk, dave woke up to see caleb staring at him on our bed...i was still sleeping in caleb's bed. after dave fed brynna, caleb went back to his own bedroom, but then went back to our bed, climbed in and went to sleep with dave. i got up, noticed caleb wasn't with me, and found the two of them asleep on our bed. garsh. he's been joining us in our bed more and more these days...still not sure how i feel about that. i still trip, though, that he won't go to my mom's bed to wake her up and will instead travel to our bedroom to climb into our bed.

anyways, i just put him to bed so we'll see how long it takes him to go to sleep. and we'll see what tonight holds for us...

Friday, November 12, 2010

fits and finger showing

having thursday off was nice...having friday off too would have been nicer but at least it wasn't so bad cuz we had a college fair field trip today.

thursday i gave my kitchen floor a good scrub down...damn it feels nice now! i don't remember when the last time i did it was but it took two passes with the green scrubby and then another wipe down to get it clean. gross. now my arms are so freakin sore it even hurts to type. lifting brynna's butt to wipe and change her is torturous. lol.

caleb is in the fit-throwing stage now. after his nap today he got up nicely, joined me in the living room, and chilled on my lap. after about 20 minutes, though, he started throwing his whiny frustration filled fit. grrr. he won't tell us what he wants and nothing will pacify him until he's ready to be regular again. i'm waiting for the day it happens when we're out in public and people look at us as "those parents" with "that kid." great.

speaking of fit-throwing...yesterday we went to eat lunch at cattle company, my mom's absolute favorite lunch time restaurant. as we were backing out of our parking space, some white folk driving in a black jeep proceeded to not pay attention and nearly hit us. i'm giving them the wth face through the window and the guy starts motioning to me for us to move even though he was the idiot not paying attention...so i proceed to throw my hands up and in my rage, i show him finger. omg. i showed him finger. what kind of idiot shows someone finger????? the passenger gets all pissed and shows me finger back. dave doesn't see me show finger and is wondering why this guy got all pissed all of a sudden. as we're leaving i tell my mom and dave, "ho, i just showed that guy finger" and i start bus' laughing cuz the sheer ridiculousness of my action hits me. seriously, i showed a guy finger with my mom and two kids in the van. soooo dumb. in this day and age, you never know what the other person is going to do. sheesh. i still have to laugh as i write this, though, cuz i don't know what in the world compelled me to show the guy the finger. lol. and then i wonder why caleb is nutts.

Friday, November 5, 2010

quick notes

quick notes:
  • brynna's been waking up choke again to eat...and it's not like we're not letting her cry for a little bit, but she keeps crying and standing up in her crib and when you feed her she inhales her milk
  • her new trick...we feed her at around 4 a.m...she goes back to sleep for a little bit in her crib then she wakes up screaming again...pick her up and throw her on our bed cuz i'm tired and want to get my last hour and a half of sleep...and she promptly goes back to sleep. sucka...just wants to sleep on the bed with us...and we're the suckas that let her!
  • she's getting really good at pulling herself up to standing position now...scary, though, cuz she hasn't quite got the hang of getting back down to a sitting position. we've already seen her face plant several times.
  • her squinty eye smile is soooo cute...don't know where she got it from but it's so funny.
  • caleb's been throwing massive fits lately...he threw one with my mom cuz he couldn't communicate what he wanted with the basketball hoop, then threw another one with dave cuz he wanted it higher but it doesn't go any higher. he throws fits when you tell him it's time to take a bath, when you want to change his diaper, when it's time to brush teeth and go to bed...garsh...what we have to look forward to!
  • in between his fit throwing, though, he's soooo much fun...talking more, playing more, interacting more, understanding more, copying more, doing more...it's just unreal!
  • he once was a lover of vegetables, especially broccoli...now he eats around his vegetables. he LOVES to snack, though, so that impacts his mealtime eating. still loves milk and his doodoos have been better (well, now they're getting too hard, but before they were too runny) since we've cut out most juice.