Friday, July 29, 2011

ball problems

so a couple weeks ago we were at sam's and needed diapers. i don't like the sam's club brand (and they were out of the size we needed) and i don't like the huggies snug and dry, so we bought the pampers, which i used before with no problems.

after a few days, we noticed that caleb was touching down there a lot and then he developed a rash on his inner thigh, which we had seen before and just used hydrocortisone to calm it down.

the hydrocortisone did not work, then his dingding, balls and butt hole started to get rashy too. it was a different kind of rash...red, swollen, and rough feeling (kind of like what i imagine an elephant's skin feels like). caleb was in pain, asking to be changed as soon as he pees and walking like a cowboy. bocha time and diaper changes were torturous for him...screaming in complete pain.

took him to the doctor yesterday and doctor said it looks like a yeast infection (jock itch?) and gave us two creams to apply. started applications yesterday, and this morning it looks way better and he wasn't quite as squirmy with his diaper change.

not being an owner of a dingding, i didn't realize how sensitive that area can be. i mean, the chingching scares me cuz i'm always afraid brynna's gonna get crap in there and cause an infection, but i always figured that cuz a dingding is outside, it's not as bad. boy was i wrong. the issues we've had with the boy's man parts are pretty horrific...with not pulling back the foreskin enough and having to have doctor "rip" it at visits (ouch!!!) and now this massive rash down there. gosh. ball problems, i tell you.

Monday, July 25, 2011

poor second child...

so yesterday i realized that brynna has two new teeth coming in on top. actually, they're pretty much in already and i never noticed it until now. sometimes i feel like we are so neglectful with things with her...new teeth just aren't as exciting or noticed, i guess, the second time around. of course, maybe it's also cuz caleb is a big wuss and made it very much known when teeth were coming in cuz he had fits...brynna, on the other hand, wasn't different at all so we didn't even know teeth were coming in.

another note about bryn...last night we moved her crib so that it's now up next to our bed, kind of like a co-sleeper would be. dave and i switched sides so that he's nearer to her...and for the first time in forever, she slept in her crib the whole night. granted, it as after 11 hen we finally went to sleep, but she also only woke up once for milk, which was wonderful.

right now she's playing with dave, laughing her head off...such a cutie.

Friday, July 22, 2011

summer coming to an end...

the last week has been a whirlwind of activity for us.

dave was gone for a week, and i can't really remember much about what we did. i know that brynna and i enjoyed snore free nights, though. lol. the most hectic time was bedtime, since dave usually puts brynna to bed. all in all, though, pretty painless since my mom was here. i missed dave a lot, but once he was back, the grumbling returned...lol.

my dad came for the weekend, and since my sister and her family were visiting and it was her birthday, we had a dinner at my house. six kids and and six adults in our little house was hectic but fun. the last time everyone was over was when caleb was just born, and needless to say, that wasn't as fun for me as i was in pain, tired and frustrated with breastfeeding and new mommyhood. this time i was much more relaxed and it was a lot more enjoyable. we spent a lot of time with my sister and the two kids and dave thinks caleb developed a crush on alexis...lol.

this week we tackled the zoo (woohoo, made enough trips in the summer to make up the cost of our year pass!) and sea life park. my mom went with us to the zoo and for the first time we actually walked pretty much the whole thing. the highlight of the trip for caleb was getting to watch an excavator at work...it actually was really cool. sucky thing was that when we were in the koi pond a girl was crawling in behind us and caleb turned around and kicked at her, kind of like he does at birds when he's shooing them away. gosh. i was mortified. he didn't hit her hard, just knicked her with his toe...but goodness, to be that mom, with that kid that's kicking other kids! he got busted and we left shortly after that.

sea life park...hard to find it impressive after many trips to sea world. for the price, though, it was okay. most impressive were the turtles, least impressive, the penguins. the shows are so-so...no as much action as i'd like, but what can you expect. i didn't realize how far away sea life park is...don't know when we'll ever make it back out there. going to hawaii kai used to be like nothing when we lived in town...now it's like traveling to a different dimension. we had to go to kapolei after that so we got to drive through waimanalo to get to the h3...nice drive...pooped as heck afterwards, though.

today we're just chillin'...gonna drop off the kids to their colmenares' grandparents before dave and i head out to celebrate our anniversary dinner with an asian buffet at kahala mandarin. i've been waiting for this night for a long time...can't wait to stuff myself silly with all the ono food. and i think for celebration's sake, imma drink a mojito too. lol.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

ear-piercing...

no, not the kine with earrings. the kind that rattles your bones...and that of the neighbors and anyone else within a hundred yard distance.

caleb is loud. we've known that from the beginning of his life.

brynna's loudness, on the other hand, snuck up on us.

she has developed an ear-piercing screech, which she will use whenever she's hurt, upset, or angry...especially ANGRY.

today we went to simply organized and she wanted to run around, which would inevitably lead to her bumping stuff over or falling and hurting herself. when i attempted to pick her up, she did the throw-herself-on-the-ground, shriek at the top of her lungs fit. grrreat.

when dave gets back we're going to put the side of her crib back on and attempt to have her sleep on her own bed throughout the night. i anticipate a lot of shriek-filled nights...grrreeeeaaatttt.

daddy-less

dave left saturday for a conference in sacramento and will be back saturday evening. a week without daddy. i don't know that the kids notice much, but i sure do, especially at bedtime.

our routine generally includes both of us bathing the kids, feeding them and putting them to bed. dave puts brynna to bed by reading to her, turning on her lullaby doll, and playing on his ipad in front of her bed until she falls asleep. i put caleb to bed by reading him (the same freakin' books every night...though i'm trying to insert a few new ones with some old since it's really boring...)...while my mom was gone i'd stay in the room with him until he fell asleep, but now that she's back i leave him in there with her.

my mom is here, so that helps a lot, but i'm still responsible for their bochas and putting them to bed. the baths aren't too hard since i can take them one at a time with my mom watching the other one. bedtime, though, is another story. brynna doesn't go to sleep as well with me as she does with dave, for whatever reason. after i read her books and put her lullaby doll on, i sit in front of her bed just like dave does. she proceeds to kick me in the back of the head, play with my hair, and attempt escapes.

the other night we had to pick my sister up from the airport at ten, and since both had taken late naps, they went with me. i figured, easy night, both are gonna pass out on the car and all i'll have to do is throw them in bed. not so. brynna fell asleep on the ride home, i put her in her crib, and then i got into bed with caleb to read him his books. not five minutes later the little girl walks into caleb's room, a smile on her face, ready to play. dangit. both of them ended up not sleeping until 1230 or later.

we'll see how tonight's bedtimes go...three more daddy-less nights and then i have my helpful husband back.

Sunday, July 10, 2011

good grief

so my obsessive ways have transferred to both of my children...

i thought brynna might be free of it, but apparently she caught some of it too.

tried to give her a sippy cup that was not "her" color...pink or purple...and she refused it.

tried to giver her a sippy cup that was a pink cup with a purple top...she refused it.

are you freakin' serious? lol. i'm sure many people have said that about my compulsions too, though...

Thursday, July 7, 2011

fight fight fight

just caught brynna trying to bite caleb's finger...because she was playing with a toy, he came over and started taking it over and grabbed her hand hard...so she brought the hand up to her mouth to bite.

this little boy is starting to be a bully to his sister. he will walk by her and "accidentally" nudge her or throw his hand out to hit her. when she's playing with something, he wants it too.

he still is very loving to her, giving her many kisses and hugs, but they're starting to fight more and more. i have visions of us being in the car with the two of them fighting with one another...and pulling the car over to smack both of them, or crawling into the back of the van to lay down the law. it's inevitable, i'm sure, for them to have some mean beefs since they're so close in age....