Sunday, October 23, 2011

caleb's gonna get chomped on...

one of these days, brynna is gonna chomp on caleb a good one...and looking at the way he's been with her lately, he deserves it.  he's been getting meaner...sneaky mean...tumbling onto her, squooshing her out of the way, taking things she's playing with.  she gets sooooo mad at him and her only defense thus far is to try to bite him and scream. 

Monday, October 10, 2011

brynna is getting to be a big girl!

brynna is so interesting.  she's just our wild child.  she runs instead of walks, jumps and flies herself all over the place, refuses to keep her hair up (she's mastered pulling her rubber bands off), and doesn't want to cuddle.  she can pull a mean fit, like today at fabric mart, when she doesn't get her way.  she's also funny and silly and likes to test her limits. 

she's almost 20 months and her words are starting to pick up.  they aren't clear yet, but she can say the following words:  milk, carry, ball, jump, moon, yes, no, one, two, three, welcome, read, book, pig, (ba)nana, shishi, hi, bye...i'm sure there are others, but i can't think of it.  of course, she learned baba first (for my mom), then daddy, and for a day she was saying mommy, but hasn't since then...suckah.  caleb also didn't say mommy for a long time after mastering baba and daddy.  guess i'm just not a priority for these two!

i'm not sure who brynna takes after.  i know i'm anti-social, but i can fake it and be very social when i want to.  dave is pretty social too.  caleb, he's our social butterfly, talking to people even when we don't want him to.  brynna, though...she really has to warm up to people before she shows them how charming she can actually be.  she won't say hi, won't even smile at people she doesn't know.  she gives a mean stink eye and sassy face.  i dunno if she's shy or just sassy.  :-)   

fall break

after the shortest (but longest) quarter of the year, i was soooo grateful to have the one week break.  my mom went home friday and came back thursday, so during that time one of us slept in the room with caleb.  he always sleeps on my mom's bed until she moves him back to his or he falls on the floor, so i got to sleep with him for most of those nights.  usually in the middle of the night i'd move him back to his bed cuz it's just too hot sleeping on a twin bed with the little one clinging to your side.  i sure do love falling asleep with him, though!  he's my little cuddly baby...i force him to cuddle me since bryn doesn't wanna cuddle.  :-) 

staying home with them is always fun.  we didn't do a whole lot this break...the cloudy/drizzly weather made for just going out weather, but we did get to go to the discovery center and zoo one day.  discovery center is just a little bit too nutts for an anti-social person like me, so once it started getting hella crowded, we headed to the zoo.  i know we went to school a couple days, but i don't really remember what else we did. 

today we went hunting for halloween costume supplies...decided they are going to be spam musubis, which is just a slight variation of their tamago sushi costume.  got foam board at ben franklin, white shirts at target, and fabric from fabric mart.  we lucked out and found just the right shade for the spam.  my sewing skills straight suck, but i managed to put their costumes together (eh, as along as nobody can see the ugly stitches and the thing no fall apart, it's good enough!). 

tomorrow it's back to the grind...hopefully this quarter will go by just as quick as first quarter and the kids will still be on track!