yesterday the kids had a dentist appointment and i must say that as we were waiting, i felt like the parent that all the other parents were looking at and thinking, "sheesh, look at her kids." caleb was more active than usual and he and brynna were climbing up and down the stair thing, jumping off each level, running here and there and making tons of noise. at one point i wanted to turn brynna's dress around because it was on backward and she proceeded to pull it off and not want to put it back on. i was feeling verrryyyy embarrassed.
when the assistant came out to call us in, off bounded caleb, loudly saying in his sing-song voice, "hi aunty!" brynna put up a little bit of a fight to go in since she was playing with a toy, but luckily she followed her brother's lead and even said, "hi aunty" quietly when we went in. of course, caleb excitedly greeted the dentist in the same way, "hi aunty!" and proceeded to jump up on the chair and open his mouth before they were even ready for him. the only thing he refused to do was put the spit sucker thingy in his mouth...he played with it and sucked water out of the cup with it, but didn't want to put it in his mouth.
next was brynna's turn, and seeing as how we have to hold her down and force her to brush her teeth while she cries and yells, i thought for sure it was gonna be a battle. nope...she sat on that chair by herself, opened her mouth for the dentist, let her brush for a good two minutes or more, and even let her put the fluoride on her teeth. little miss show off i tell you! i was pleasantly surprised...and greatly relieved!
one note - being the clueless brain-farter that i am...after we brushed their teeth and were heading out the door to the dentist, what do i do but give them each a peanut butter cheese cracker thingy to eat...goodness gracious! what an idiot!
1 comment:
I love the new template. Don't you think that kids somehow know when you're reaching the end of your embarrassment tolerance? Of course, right when you're near that line, they do something to make you proud. Lol. Smart kids, I tell ya!
Post a Comment