Tuesday, May 8, 2012

cool beans and random stuff

before i begin writing other things, just had to share that caleb just said, in the right context, "cool beans."  hehe.  he then said, "twist says cool beans.  that's from fresh beat band."  i dunno if that's where that saying originated, but that's pretty funny.  now on to other things.

okay, i hang my head in shame and admit that until this past weekend, we were still getting up at least once a night and giving brynna milk.  yes, we know she shouldn't be drinking milk at two years old.  yes, we know it's bad for her teeth.  and yes, for selfish reasons, i kept doing it because i wanted to sleep and not deal with her crying.  i kept telling myself that at the next break, we'd break her habit...and i never did it.  this past friday my mom said, "you guys close your windows and your door and let her cry...stop giving her milk at night."  so we listened.  and it was a lot less painless than i anticipated.  as of last night she's still getting up and crying, but not for long.  hopefully by the the weekend she'll stop the crying at night and just sleep. 

in two and a half weeks (on may 25th to be exact), the potty training officially will begin for both kids.  it's going to be painful and we'll probably have to be on house-arrest for a while, but it has to get done.  my plan for the summer is to also get them into the same schedule that caleb will follow when he starts school in august so that he'll be used to it and will be trained to eat and pee and sleep when he's supposed to.  he likes to sleep in, so he'll have to get used to an earlier bedtime and a much earlier waking up time.  the only thing that's going to throw that off a little bit is that i have a workshop on june 26-29 but hopefully the schedule is pretty well-ingrained by then. 

brynna is talking a lot more...still pretty unclear most of the time...but after getting her test results back and seeing that she actually knows and can do quite a lot, i'm not as worried as i was.  she's started to say her abc's so i'm happy...i was a little worried there for a while because caleb picked up the alphabet really quickly and it seemed like she just wasn't learning it at all. 

caleb is frickin addicted to games on nickjr.com and though a lot of them actually require him to use his brain and learn some cool things, i'm not so keen on the one that he loves the most, which is just jumping and collecting crap.  i'm not a gamer at all, so games in general seem like a big waste of time to me but dave insists that it does help him with eye-hand coordination and problem solving.  caleb was getting ridiculous for a while and pitching a huge fit and fighting when it came time to get off the computer but after some good scoldings and spanks, he's learned that when i start the count, he better get his butt off that damn computer. 

we took the kids to tash's may day and our school's band concert this past weekend.  caleb is a really good audience member...he sits still and watches, enthralled, for pretty much the whole show.  brynna is less focused, but she was pretty good too, seeing as how both were at least two hours long. 

as the school year comes to an end, i'm actually pretty sad.  this is the first year in a while that i really, really, really like my kids.  even though i'm at that "little patience for shenanigans, dammit" level at this point, i still know i'm going to be sad to say bye to a lot of these kids.  i've been with my avid kids for homeroom, avid and english so i'll really miss them and there are a few others who i'm really going to miss too.  i am looking forward to the summer, though, and being able to be home with the kids all day.  there's a lot of cleaning that needs to be done (my freakin' floors are horrendous right about now because they haven't been scrubbed down in forever) and a lot of crap that needs to be donated or dumped.

holy smokes, maybe i should write more often so i don't have novel length entries like this one...lol. 

1 comment:

Mrs. Tamashiro said...

I like the novella entries. Lol. And sometimes, you gotta do what you gotta do to keep your own sanity. Nothing to be ashamed of there.

I laughed when I read about you counting for Caleb to get off the computer. Do you count for Dave, too? And does it work? He's right though, good for coordination and problem solving.