Monday, May 28, 2012

potty training

so potty training boot camp began on friday, may 25th.  we tried to follow the three-day potty training method which tells you to go bare butt or loose shorts (not underwear or pullups) and that after three days the kids would get it and pee in the potty. 

the first to successfully pee in the potty was....brynna!!!  she was refusing to sit on the potty but then dave noticed her moving toward the corner by the tv and told her to sit down on the potty and for some reason she listened...and a few seconds later, she surprised us and herself when we heard the pee hitting the potty!  YAY!  she got two m&ms for her peeing and after seeing that, caleb was determined.  by the end of day one he'd peed in the potty three times (standing up at the real toilet, not in the potty).  they both had multiple accidents, but it seemed like caleb was getting the hang of it while brynna was heading in the opposite direction and refusing to even sit on the potty anymore.

day two caleb really got the hang of it and even started working the system by peeing every 15 minutes to get his reward.  brynna, on the other hand, was not getting it at all.  we knew she wanted to doodoo but she refused to sit down and it ended up that the doodoo eventually fell out of her butt and i had to catch it with a napkin.  luckily she makes dry round balls of doodoo and not wet kine so that was do-able.  caleb also refused to make doodoo on the potty and we knew that he needed to so he ended up doing it in the pullups before we went to bed.

by day three you're supposed to make the connection between going to the potty right before leaving the house.  unfortunately we didn't do that, but caleb seemed to be really getting it with the exception of the doodoo.  he started doing this really funny dance and we knew it was because he needed to doodoo but he refused to do it on the potty.  brynna we've pretty  much given up on for the time being...i should have known she would be more difficult because if she doesn't want to do something, it ain't happening.

today we actually left the house...he used the potty at leish's house, which was his first potty use outside so that was good.  then we went to sam's club and he said he wanted to pee but after standing there for forever and nothing coming out i told him it was enough.  he proceeded to throw a small fit but got over it.  then he told dave he wanted to go so dave took him and when he wouldn't do anything dave told him it was enough and he proceeded to throw a huge fit.  luckily he didn't pee on the way home, which we were worried about.  he's taking a nap right now with underwear on so we'll see if he's dry when he wakes up.

overall i'd say this potty training experience was less traumatic (for me) than i expected it to be.  thankfully it looks like caleb will be able to go to school in august :-).  brynna....we'll just have to work on this little stubborn head a little bit more.   

No comments: