super fast/short one cuz we gotta get the kids to bed...
today was caleb's first day of preschool and even thinking about it last night i was starting to feel kind of choked up. i'm not sad he's going to school, but somehow it's a little bit sad knowing that my first baby is growing up so quickly.
anyways, he'd been well prepped for preschool...he visited the school this summer, the teacher came and visited with us at home, and we've been talking about it a lot. this morning he woke up with no problems and knew that today was the day to begin school. as we drove him up there he wasn't nervous or scared at all, just very excited.
once we got there he chose a cot to sleep on and put down his pillow and blanket. then he chose his cubby and we put his basket in it. we took him over the classroom and he quickly went to sit down with the aide and another little boy who was trying his best not to cry. when i told caleb we were going he said, "bye." no hug, no sadness, nothing. i had to tell him to come over and give us a kiss and a hug and then he quickly went back to where the others were.
when we go there to pick him up he was in the bathroom...apparently he had waited too long to go to the bathroom and had gotten it on the floor and his shoes instead of in the toilet. when we told him it was time to go he started whining and saying he wanted to stay. we let him play a little bit more while we talked to the teacher and then after he picked up all the balls he could find on the grassy area (great at stalling already, i guess), he was finally ready to go.
all in all, successful first day of preschool. i was worried about brynna and how she would react to being left home alone, but my mom said that when she came out of the bedroom after changing her clothes she looked around for us but didn't cry.
gosh...i'm a mommy of a child in school. that's crazy.
1 comment:
Ha ha ha. I looked for the "Like" button. :)
Post a Comment