Wednesday, February 20, 2013
awww shiiiii....
the other day dave overheard caleb saying, as he was playing his game, "awww shiii....oh, i'm not going to say that naughty word." while this is super hilarious, it's also a prime example of how EVERYTHING we do and say is picked up on by these kids. i wish i could say i was a better role model, but i am by far the worst role model (if you look at me, dave, my mom, and grandpa and grandma...the adults they see most frequently). i'm the least patient, the most out of control and the worst potty mouth of all of us. i do hope they pick up on some of the good things, though, and don't only remember and emulate my road-rage, dave-rage and everyday-rage. it's no wonder why my little girl, when i ask her, "do you understand that just because you want something, it doesn't mean you're going to get it?" and she replies with, "NO WAY." i better work hard on being better before it's too late.
Monday, February 11, 2013
woohoo...bunkbed!!!
last night was night #1 of no baby in the bed...lol! caleb had to take the bottom bunk because brynna wouldn't go to sleep unless she had the top. it took caleb a long time to fall asleep and he kept asking me to go by him...he also woke me up at 3 a.m. with a big bunch of doods in his diaper, which hasn't happened in forever. brynna, on the other hand, fell asleep quite nicely and stayed asleep the whole night, then woke up this morning a happy little girl. we had to rearrange all the furniture in our room and it blows my mind that our bedroom can fit the bunkbed, our queen size, two dressers, a file cabinet and more! i am now sleeping against the wall, which i don't really like, but oh well...at least i'm next to my husband now and have a full adult sized space on the bed and not a sliver of space with brynna next to me. i couldn't sleep well last night because i kept worrying that one of them would fall (actually, worrying that caleb would fall since the bottom doesn't have rails like the top and he's more prone to falling from beds than brynna anyways). brynna has to have sports sheets now cuz we don't have any girly sheets yet, but her birthday's coming up so imma get her some cute hello kitty ones. :-) actually, i should get her some dinosaur ones...she'd like that better!
Sunday, February 3, 2013
preschool
after figuring out that brynna and caleb would be two years apart in school, we thought we'd have a respite from preschool tuition for a year in between the two. however, when i think of brynna staying home for yet another year, i think that we just gotta suck it up and send her to preschool starting next year already. she's stubborn and doesn't know how to share, and i think staying home for an additional year will only make it harder for her to adjust to the routine of school. i'm terribly afraid of what the school experience will be like with her...especially after how easy the transition has been for caleb, but we have to do it. she'll have had her one year of alone-time with baba, which i think was good for her because she always has to share the spotlight with her brother. i'm praying that she'll be that child...the one that acts like a terror at home but does well at school....however, i'm also anticipating it being painful, painful, painful. we'll see. i got her application and dave and i are 99% sure we're sending her starting next year. in a way it's unfair because caleb only got one year of preschool, but that's all he needed. she needs something different, so too bad about the fairness.
sleeping arrangements
since five of us live in a two-bedroom apartment, it's inevitable that at least one kid will sleep in our room. brynna has been with us since birth. caleb used to sleep in the other room with my mom but has been sleeping in our room for a while now because he goes to sleep earlier if he's in our room since my mom goes to sleep later than us and he thinks that if baba's awake in the room, play time continues. right now brynna sleeps on the bed with us and caleb sleeps on the crib mattress on the ground. we've been trying to figure out what we're going to do so that we can get brynna in her own bed sometime in the near future.
one thought is to get a bunk bed and put it in our room. there's actually enough room for our bed and a bunk, but it will be tight and i'm not sure if i'm ready for brynna to be on the top bunk (it would have to be her because caleb would definitely fall off...she's much better at not falling off beds).
another thought is to get a trundle bed so they both can be pretty near to the ground.
a third thought is to get rid of the crib mattress and just make them both sleep on the ground.
i dunno what we're going to do, but i do know that i am ready to sleep next to dave again and that sleeping on a kid-less bed makes for a much better sleep.
we also have to really make a better bedtime routine. we generally get into bed anytime between 830-900 and then after a little bit of reading and a lot of playing, we're all sleeping by 1000. i'd much rather the kids be in the bedroom by 800, leave them there and teach them to sleep on their own (after reading a few books, of course), and then dave and i get into bed around 930 (yes, that sounds early to most of you, but we are old futs who can't stay up late!). i know of kids who are in their rooms at like 7...that's a little bit early for me, but since both of them will most likely be in school next year (more on that in another post), we gotta figure out this bedtime thing.
one thought is to get a bunk bed and put it in our room. there's actually enough room for our bed and a bunk, but it will be tight and i'm not sure if i'm ready for brynna to be on the top bunk (it would have to be her because caleb would definitely fall off...she's much better at not falling off beds).
another thought is to get a trundle bed so they both can be pretty near to the ground.
a third thought is to get rid of the crib mattress and just make them both sleep on the ground.
i dunno what we're going to do, but i do know that i am ready to sleep next to dave again and that sleeping on a kid-less bed makes for a much better sleep.
we also have to really make a better bedtime routine. we generally get into bed anytime between 830-900 and then after a little bit of reading and a lot of playing, we're all sleeping by 1000. i'd much rather the kids be in the bedroom by 800, leave them there and teach them to sleep on their own (after reading a few books, of course), and then dave and i get into bed around 930 (yes, that sounds early to most of you, but we are old futs who can't stay up late!). i know of kids who are in their rooms at like 7...that's a little bit early for me, but since both of them will most likely be in school next year (more on that in another post), we gotta figure out this bedtime thing.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)