since five of us live in a two-bedroom apartment, it's inevitable that at least one kid will sleep in our room. brynna has been with us since birth. caleb used to sleep in the other room with my mom but has been sleeping in our room for a while now because he goes to sleep earlier if he's in our room since my mom goes to sleep later than us and he thinks that if baba's awake in the room, play time continues. right now brynna sleeps on the bed with us and caleb sleeps on the crib mattress on the ground. we've been trying to figure out what we're going to do so that we can get brynna in her own bed sometime in the near future.
one thought is to get a bunk bed and put it in our room. there's actually enough room for our bed and a bunk, but it will be tight and i'm not sure if i'm ready for brynna to be on the top bunk (it would have to be her because caleb would definitely fall off...she's much better at not falling off beds).
another thought is to get a trundle bed so they both can be pretty near to the ground.
a third thought is to get rid of the crib mattress and just make them both sleep on the ground.
i dunno what we're going to do, but i do know that i am ready to sleep next to dave again and that sleeping on a kid-less bed makes for a much better sleep.
we also have to really make a better bedtime routine. we generally get into bed anytime between 830-900 and then after a little bit of reading and a lot of playing, we're all sleeping by 1000. i'd much rather the kids be in the bedroom by 800, leave them there and teach them to sleep on their own (after reading a few books, of course), and then dave and i get into bed around 930 (yes, that sounds early to most of you, but we are old futs who can't stay up late!). i know of kids who are in their rooms at like 7...that's a little bit early for me, but since both of them will most likely be in school next year (more on that in another post), we gotta figure out this bedtime thing.
No comments:
Post a Comment