this shorter winter break sure goes by quickly...i think i liked the longer break here and the shorter summer better.
i can't really say that break was relaxing, although we did do a lot of "hanging out" at home due to sicknesses and surgeries. the kids both got sick early in the break and the hanabata nose is still lingering. dave had his surgery on the 21st and complications from the surgery kept us from doing a lot outside of the house.
here's some thoughts from this holiday season...
christmas with two kids is like nothing i've ever seen before. the gifts are wonderful and maybe next christmas the two will actually understand and be excited about opening gifts...as it was, though, caleb got distracted about halfway through and started to play with the opened toys and dave had to finish up opening. brynna was most content to sit and chew on ribbon. i have to remember to be more careful with writing down who gave what so i can do my thank you cards accurately.
speaking of thank you cards...sheesh...now i not only gotta write thank you cards for me and dave, but brynna and caleb too! that's a lot, but my gramma really drilled into my head the need for prompt thank you cards!
i asked dave the other night if he thinks we'll ever "celebrate" new year's again. he said maybe when the kids are older. hehe. i doubt it. as it is now i just wanna make sure we're home well before the craziness begins. the kids were sleeping before ten and we were in bed well before twelve...and then the freakin' loudest, longest fireworks session began and lasted for a good 40 minutes after midnight. i tell you, the sound of silence after the festivities is the nicest sound ever.
new year's day was quiet...i was too lazy to invite anyone over so it was just us with miso soup and tempura. dave had to stay off his feet so it was good to just stay home and chillax.
this christmas i gave everybody gift cards instead of shopping. i think next year i'll go back to shopping...by then the kids should be old enough that i can handle going shopping with them. gift cards sure made it easier, though. i actually missed wrapping gifts...but with the two around, wrapping gifts is not a very feasible idea.
no resolutions for 2011...i'm too blackbrained to even remember if i make resolutions so no sense. time to get back into the habit of sleeping early and waking up early!
No comments:
Post a Comment