Thursday, March 3, 2011

what to do?

so the same gouge my eyeballs out kid from the last post drove me to the point of utter frustration again yesterday.

he comes in to class, the period after lunch, and asks me to use the bathroom.

i ask him what he was doing all during lunch and tells me, "i was at the courts!" with a look on his face like, duh, what else would i be doing, that's why i couldn't use the bathroom, let me go now!!!!

i look back at him with what i'm sure is a pissy, incredulous face, and tell him no.

he continues to ask us again and again if he can go and we continue to tell him no.

we get into doing our classwork and when there's about ten minutes left he asks again. i tell him to do one more part of his assignment and then i'll let him go (after all, when we talked to his mom about his frequent bathroom use, she told us that he has peed his pants in elementary because of not getting to use the bathroom...whatever...). he finishes the part i told him to and i tell him that he has until the big hand reaches the 5 to be back and if he's not back by then he'll never be allowed to go to the bathroom again.

he runs there and back and gets to the class in time....with a wad of new gum in his mouth.

admin has been making announcements about no gum chewing so i've written big on my board "NO GUM CHEWING!!" the other kids, of course, are quick to point out that he's chewing gum. i'd had it already so i just take out a referral and start to write a very detailed account of his behavior the entire period.

seriously...i dunno what to do and how to handle him. he's gotten cracks from his stepdad to try to get him to behave, his mom is informed of his behavior, he's supposedly on meds...i dunno. i'm sure a big part of it is me...i'm tired of him and so everything he does gets me completely riled up. thank goodness i don't have that class today so at least i have a little reprieve.

on another note....a kid in that same class kept piping up and making inappropriate comments to this kid cuz he's so irritating. so as i tried to talk to him and tell him that he's only getting himself into trouble for making inappropriate comments, he proceeds to tell me that he's in english class, and he's speaking english, so how can i scold him. for real????

this is why pins classes DON'T work.

No comments: