i LOVE weekends. i LOVE weekends a hundred times more when i have longest weeks of my life like i've been having. however, i HATE how time flies during our weekends!
yesterday we took my mom to eat at tsukiji for her birthday. not bad...not as much selection as makino, but much better quality and atmosphere. brynna made out cuz my mom bought her crocs and earrings! little girl has shoes that are more expensive than shoes i'd buy myself! i have a hard time spending $20 on a pair of shoes, and i'd rarely ever spend $30 on a pair. but crocs for the kids are worth it...that's all caleb ever wears and i'm sure brynna will be in her crocs all the time too.
last night dave had his oh-so-important fantasy draft get together so we took the kids to the aiea bon dance. they enjoyed it...we only were there for about an hour and a half, but that was the perfect amount of time. they ate noodles, watched the dancing, got to hear the taiko drums...good enough.
today after church the kids went with their colmenares grandparents (we're so lucky to have both side grandparents to help watch!) and dave and i ate lunch, cruised around pridge for a bit, then came home, washed clothes, changed bedding, took a walk to office depot, and he even helped me with dinner (he cut mushrooms and bell peppers, oiled and mrs dash'd them...that's amazing!!!!).
right now caleb is sitting on his potty watching oobi (no shishi yet...it's been about twenty minutes). he's making funny faces and i think he has to pee but he's being his stubborn self and not doing it. gosh. i showed him a picture of a cars potty and asked if he would use that potty...his answer, NO. tonight i only got him to sit on it because i put brynna on it first and then after he saw her sit on it, he decided he wanted to. i think we will have to resort to all kinds of trickery with this guy...
Sunday, August 28, 2011
Sunday, August 21, 2011
lazy sunday
today was a grrreeeaaaatttt day. even though i didn't get to sleep in until 715, which was when my alarm was supposed to go off, it still was wonderful. we got to church early so we got to choose seats we actually wanted to sit in and the kids behaved like champs and even got into their grandparent's car with little fuss (we usually have to drive them up to the house cuz they no like get in the car). dave and i had a nice lunch at ichiriki then headed to ross, where i found two dresses and two shirts and dave got a shirt and an underwear, all for $50. we came home, lounged around, ate some ice cream, watched criminal minds, did a little bit of work, and even went to the pool and bocha'd before heading up to his parents' house for dinner. so relaxing...so needed after such hectic weeks and a killer week up ahead.
Saturday, August 20, 2011
twins
caleb is now 2 years 8 months and brynna is 18 months.
it never fails that when we go to costco and the two of them are sitting side by side in the cart, someone will ask us if they're twins. hehe. then we have to smile and say, "no, they're 14 months apart...hehe." if i didn't know any better, though, i'd think they were twins too because sitting down, they look like they're the same size.
it's so cute to see them running around and playing with each other. caleb still loves to hug and kiss her and brynna is getting a little bit better...she'll even hold his hand once in a while, though she still often lunges at him trying to bite him.
it's also cute to see brynna trying to copy things caleb does...like pointing at the animals in the book and going, "roooaaarrrr." so funny.
we thought that because caleb is so verbal, brynna would pick up quickly...hasn't happened. in fact, we sometimes wonder if caleb holds her back from learning stuff because when we're trying to teach her things, he automatically jumps in with his smart guy self and answers whatever we're trying to ask her. with all the talking he does, she'd have to fight to get a word in anyways.
her lack of verbal skill is overshadowed by her daring nature, though. she is constantly jumping on the couch, even though she's fallen off several times...the thrill of the fall is worth it, i guess. that's one thing she's definitely more adept at...jumping around. caleb wasn't able to two-feet jump for a while, but this little girl is a really good jumper.
i really like watching their relationship with each other develop...it's so cool since i didn't really live full-time with any siblings who were close in age to me.
it never fails that when we go to costco and the two of them are sitting side by side in the cart, someone will ask us if they're twins. hehe. then we have to smile and say, "no, they're 14 months apart...hehe." if i didn't know any better, though, i'd think they were twins too because sitting down, they look like they're the same size.
it's so cute to see them running around and playing with each other. caleb still loves to hug and kiss her and brynna is getting a little bit better...she'll even hold his hand once in a while, though she still often lunges at him trying to bite him.
it's also cute to see brynna trying to copy things caleb does...like pointing at the animals in the book and going, "roooaaarrrr." so funny.
we thought that because caleb is so verbal, brynna would pick up quickly...hasn't happened. in fact, we sometimes wonder if caleb holds her back from learning stuff because when we're trying to teach her things, he automatically jumps in with his smart guy self and answers whatever we're trying to ask her. with all the talking he does, she'd have to fight to get a word in anyways.
her lack of verbal skill is overshadowed by her daring nature, though. she is constantly jumping on the couch, even though she's fallen off several times...the thrill of the fall is worth it, i guess. that's one thing she's definitely more adept at...jumping around. caleb wasn't able to two-feet jump for a while, but this little girl is a really good jumper.
i really like watching their relationship with each other develop...it's so cool since i didn't really live full-time with any siblings who were close in age to me.
Tuesday, August 16, 2011
this little girl...
is nutts. i don't know where she gets it from, but she has a TEMPER. i always knew that having a daughter would bring me my own special kind of payback for being the b-yotch i am, and brynna is definitely my payback.
she doesn't talk much...well, not at all really...but when she's mad, she needs no words, just her high-pitched, loud-ass screech. and she gets mad for the most random things...irrational like her mama. she gets up from sleep pissed off at the world and having a fit. if caleb takes something away from her, a common reaction is to headbutt or attempt to bite. she hasn't gotten him yet, but he sure does piss her off.
i'm hoping that when she's able to talk she'll be less pissed off because she'll actually be able to communicate with us. on the other hand, i'm quite sure that if she continues to be my payback, i won't like some of the things that will come out of her mouth. i sure am interested to see her grow up...
she doesn't talk much...well, not at all really...but when she's mad, she needs no words, just her high-pitched, loud-ass screech. and she gets mad for the most random things...irrational like her mama. she gets up from sleep pissed off at the world and having a fit. if caleb takes something away from her, a common reaction is to headbutt or attempt to bite. she hasn't gotten him yet, but he sure does piss her off.
i'm hoping that when she's able to talk she'll be less pissed off because she'll actually be able to communicate with us. on the other hand, i'm quite sure that if she continues to be my payback, i won't like some of the things that will come out of her mouth. i sure am interested to see her grow up...
Tuesday, August 9, 2011
getting in the groove...not
i can't adjust to school this year. i don't know what it is. i keep making the stupidest mistakes, can't manage my time the way i thought i used to, and i'm always feeling like i'm two steps behind. i find myself coming home from work late, pulling work out as soon as i get home, and still not feeling like i'm catching up. today i made a conscious effort to NOT pull out any work as soon as i got home. luckily we have had leftovers for two nights and tomorrow i'm making a slow cooker meal which i partially prepped today, which will give us leftovers for thursday too. last week seriously felt like the longest week of my life, and this week will probably even feel longer, with open house on thursday evening. gosh. maybe by the end of first quarter, i'll get the hang of it.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)