Monday, June 30, 2008

varicose veins

GRRRRRR....last night was another one of those nights. I actually passed out earlier than the last time, but my stupid right leg, from knee to foot, was hurting like crazy again. I've determined that it's varicose veins in my foot...and that it gets most irritating when I've been walking around a lot during the day or when I take a late nap and can't go to sleep easily at night. I'm going to try to take before and after pictures of what my foot looks like when it's at its most intense throbbing. When I mentioned it to my doctor he just said, "Yea, you'll get a lot of those as your pregnancy goes on." WTF? I need solutions!!! I think one solution is to exercise, so that I don't get too fat, cuz the fatter I get, the worse it's going to be.

Beyond that, nothing much going on. Bloating, gas, yucky barf burps, and still fatigue. I swear I go to bed before 10 (before 9 sometimes!), wake up at 630 or 700, take an hour nap sometime during the day, and still feel tired as heck. I hate it. Hopefully my body is storing up all this extra sleep cuz once school starts I'm going to have to get back on track.


Okay, time for my daily nap!! I get to get a haircut today...I'm thinking of going short like Kate's...we'll see.

Week 17

This week's picture looks a lot bigger than last week's picture...too much eating and no exercising!!! Dave and I actually went out and bought a couple pregnancy pants for me yesterday since I'll need some nice clothes for our trip to Nashville. Even though my belly is not big enough for the big elastic stomach part, I don't want to buy anything that's not going to last me for the rest of the pregnancy.

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

3rd Doctor's Visit

I tell you, no knock on my doctor cuz I think he's okay, but today was just another anticlimactic doctor's visit...first of all, my bloodwork results didn't come in, so we didn't have that to go over. All we did was weight, blood pressure, listen to baby's heart, and schedule next visit. If I had a heart monitor thingy at home, I could have done it all by myself.

My weight increased by 5 pounds, so I'm now 114.

Next visit, July 25, we will (hopefully) find out baby's sex.

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Week 16

Seriously...I'm doing the morning time pic cuz I figured I'd be consistent, but by the end of the day, my stomach looks way different...

Monday, June 23, 2008

bloodwork, yuck...

I don't know why I'm such a panty about giving blood, but I am...it makes me feel kind of woozy as I sit in the chair. This was especially bad because she didn't just take out one little vial...she took out FIVE...and big ones too!! I told her, "Whoa, that much?!!" She probably thought I was such a big baby as I leaned over far away from where she was going to stick my arm and covered my eyes. I told her I guess I shouldn't be so scared of this when I gotta give birth in a little while...she just laughed. Then I had to pee, and I usually have to pee a lot but today only a little bit came out. Performance anxiety, I guess. Oh well, that's all done and now we go to the doctor on Wednesday to get results...

Speaking of the results...Dave and I, when questioned by the doctor about doing more extensive Down's Syndrome tests, were kind of like, "Why? Not like we going do anything if the tests come out that our baby has Down's." The doctor kind of just laughed and said yea, so we're just doing the regular blood test one. (Side note...my mom was 41 when she was pregnant with me, turning 42 that year...so Dave once said that I had a "mild case of Down's" to his parents...it was freakin' hilarious...dummy!!!)

So when would it be "okay" to terminate the pregancy....what if the doctor told us on Wednesday that our baby would be missing arms, or legs, or eyes, or something like that? What if the baby's insides weren't growing the way they were supposed to? What if there was some major deformity that would cause the child to have major complications throughout his/her life? Wouldn't it just be selfish, then, for us to bring a baby into the world, knowing that he/she would have to suffer for the rest of its life? Or would that be selfish of us to terminate the pregnancy? Dave and I talked about what we would and wouldn't terminate for...we're just leaving it in God's hands and trusting that He is forming our baby in the way He wants it...

Sunday, June 22, 2008

thanks, nick!!




Here's a look at our new bathroom!!! It's so much prettier!!! We worried about how it would be to have bathroom renovations with a baby and two houseguests around, but it really worked out fine...it only took a day and a half to change out the tile, toilet, vanity, counter, and sink...we worried there might be complications but the only problems were that there were roots (yea, roots!) growing in the toilet hole thingy in the ground, and the back wall behind the counter is super crooked so the guy who installed it had to be creative. Now our closet-sized bathroom at least has appeal!!

Speaking of closet-sized bathrooms...I wonder how showering will be as I get bigger. I know it seems like it shouldn't be a problem, but I'm a scaredy cat and I hate to shower by myself...it kind of freaks me out. Right now Dave and I have no problem fitting in the shower, and I actually think it saves water (my rationalization for my babyness), but as my tummy grows, I wonder if we'll fit. If not, Dave may have to sit in there with me while I bocha...


how we'll be as parents...

That's a pretty scary question...

I wonder how much I'll let Dave be a part of parenthood...I'm such a bossy, do it my way or it's wrong, I can do it better than you, what the heck are you thinking type of person that I think I'll have issues with letting Dave do stuff. Hopefully I'll be so dang tired that this won't be a problem, but I wonder...let me give you an example...

Last night I gave JayJay a shower cuz he was all sticky and I thought it might soothe his irritation...so Dave takes him out, wipes him down, and decides that tonight he will try to put on his first diaper. So he gets the diaper, figures out which side is the front and which is the back, then proceeds to open the diaper up and move the BABY to the diaper. I laugh, but don't say anything. Then he has the back part so high up that when he tries to pull the front part up, it barely covers his ding ding and Dave is wondering what the heck is wrong with the DIAPER. He continues to move the BABY until the diaper is situated correctly, then fastens the velcro....all pau....

Until I move in...and rearrange the diaper, show him what he did wrong, and put it on all over again...

See what I mean? It'll be an interesting road...

Saturday, June 21, 2008

our practice...


Dave's attempt at entertaining...

Frame #1....followed by....

Frame #2....yuck...barf boy...

Friday, June 20, 2008

having a baby around...

So, for those of you who don't already know, my brother, his girlfriend, and their 4 month old baby are staying with us as they find a place to live. They just moved down here from San Diego...she got stationed at Kaneohe MCB and my brother just got out of the Navy and is looking for a job...

They got here on Wednesday...so far, so okay. Having the baby here helps...he's a cutie and Dave and I enjoy him. Dave plays chauffeur while I play babysitter. JayJay (I don't even know how to correctly spell his nickname) is such a good little boy it's not even funny...he lays there on the ground and entertains himself for the most part...he'll fuss a little if he's hungry, then eat, then sleep. He doesn't even cry when I take off his doodoo diaper, am obsessed with what the doodoo looks like because I swear he was having a hard time pushing out these three balls so I'm scared that he's constipated, then pees on himself as I take my time putting the next diaper on. He doesn't cry when I ghetto style bocha him cuz we don't have a sink big enough and no baby bocha tub...so I cover my legs with a towel, prop him precariously on there (eh, the first time I did it, I never use one towel and fell five times...good thing my mom told me to just use a towel for traction...guess moms are smart, hehe), and proceed to potogee bath him that way. Dave and I both know that the reality of babies is that they are NOT this good...but we can pray!!

So that's what we've been doing for the past two days...tomorrow and Sunday our bathroom is being renovated, so it'll be interesting to have no bathroom, 4 adults, and 1 baby. Oh well, I'm sure it will be fine...

Recent things I've noticed...if I eat too much, I turn into a baby and do the little spit up thing when I burp and sneeze...but unlike a baby, it doesn't just dribble down my chin to be wiped up by someone and I actually have to gag it back down or run to the bathroom to spit it out. It's so gross. Also, I swear I'm sleeping more than ever...maybe making up for all my sleepless nights. I go to bed around 10, wake up at 7, then take a full on dead to world nap in the middle of the day.

That's about it...I think I better go pay attention to baby...he's been lying on the floor playing by himself for long enough...

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

more stuff happening

One thing I've noticed...guys must really be stupid, or not get the message the first time, because Sportscenter and the ESPN channel fully cues in to this deficiency cuz I swear I've seen the same freakin' report ten times over the course of post game and this morning. And Dave keeps watching it over and over, like it's freakin' new news. I don't get it. And they keep you there on the station cuz they promise that something new will be on in the next segment, but I swear the next segment takes another 2 hours to play...jeez. Then again, I can watch the same Jon and Kate over and over and still make little exclamations of "Oh, how cute," so I must be just as stupid.

Got me some new shorts, finally, yesterday. They're kind of big, but I figure I'll grow into them and for now they're a lot more comfortable than my gut hugging other shorts. I was tired of wearing the same 2 shorts over and over again cuz those are the only ones that fit! Thanks Deena for the Old Navy advice...got me and Dave a couple things online...

Lately there's two notable differences I've observed....first of all, when I sneeze, especially in the mornings when I just get up, the third sneeze (they usually come in threes) is so forceful and I'm so out of breath from the first two, that the third one turns into a gag. It's really weird and Dave always has to ask me if I'm okay.

The second difference is also related to sneezing...but a couple of times when I was walking around (and I almost swear both times were in Lowe's but I'm not sure), I sneeze, and shishi comes out. It's so gross...not like pee my pants kind shishi, but just a surprising little squirt. Luckily I'm still in the habit of wearing pantiliners all the time, so it's not that bad. Yea yea, too much information. But I gotta keep track of these things before I forget!

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Yay Boston!!!

Wow...I know pregnancy makes a person emotional, but seeing Boston win today actually made me AND Dave shed tears!!! Kevin Colmenares...that actually sounds good, huh?! Does it matter if I have a first cousin named Kevin already? Dave says Garnett Colmenares...that's dumb. Dave says he won't name his kid against any bball player except Jordan...Jordan Colmenares....that's okay.

Dang...what a wonderful finals!!! Just nutts...there's nothing more to say about that...what a TEAM. Kevin Garnett is still my man...even though he definitely isn't the most articulate guy in the world...heeehee. And I've found a new little guy to watch...Rajon Rondo...he's so cute...and Dave was dogging on him the whole series, but he's going to work on being more of a scorer and he's going to freakin' be unbelievable! And I love that he's little, but still goes in to get rebounds...there's nothing I love more than a scrappy rebounder. Rondo Colmenares...hehe. And James Posey is nutts...wow. I like see what Kobe going say in his interview...

Monday, June 16, 2008

Week 15


Here's the pic for Week 15...I put some clothes on this time so it doesn't look so bad :-)!

So far, it seems like there isn't much to see...my lower tummy feels a little bit harder, but other than that it just feels like I'm getting larger fat rolls that fall over my pants when I sit down. Standing up and lying down, though, it doesn't look that different. I better savor this tummy now because I know that it will be a long time (maybe never) that I'll have a tummy like this again...

Sunday, June 15, 2008

this sucks

I HATE not being able to sleep well!!! If it's not one thing, it's another. Tonight it's restless leg syndrome. Okay, I probably don't have rls, but my freakin' right let is tingling and won't stop. Dave massaged it for what probably seemed like hours to him, but it's still "sore." I put sore in quotation marks cuz it's not really sore-sore, it's like irritating little blood vessels are pulsating in a non-sore way around my whacked ankle up through my shin to my knee and then back down again. I went to bed at freakin' 8:30 or something like that cuz I was fully tired, felt my book fall down before Dave came to bed, heard him turn off the light and get in bed, and then I could not go back to sleep. And all throughout this, my leg has been having this stupid feeling. Dave stacked about a million pillows for me because he said I had to elevate my leg above my heart (I think he was just tired of massaging), which didn't help at all. So now it's 11:39 and I'm here on the computer cuz I had to get up to investigate what rls is all about, which I'm kind of sure I don't have, then I figure I'll blow off my irritation by writing on this thing. Plus too I have sunburn on my legs and forearms, which is getting all itchy and irritating too. I want to wake Dave up so he can suffer with me, but I know I'll only piss him off more. Already he gave me the "it's too hot" excuse when I tried to move onto his side of the bed...grrr...what am I going to do???? I'm going to wake him up...

Friday, June 13, 2008

sleeplessness

For the past three nights I have woken up at around 3 a.m. to go and pee, then I can't go back to sleep. My mom told me to put a notebook by my bed and write down what I'm thinking about and then I'll be able to go back to sleep. I tried it out last night and I think that advice would have worked, if not for the major case of sore stomach and diarrhea, which was probably brought on by eating too much kimchi and tofu soup earlier in the night. Poor Dave has had to wake up with me, deal with me turning on the light, and last night he had to rub my back as I suffered in diarrhea pain. So today I'm rendered pretty useless, although we did go to an early dentist appointment, picked up Tash, went to the pool, made banana bread, and watched American Gangster. Luckily, for the most part I was in a horizontal position and got to take a nap at the pool while Tash and Dave swam. I'm going to try my best tonight to get a good night's rest...I get too dang fussy when I'm tired and we don't need me to be any more fussy than I already am. It's embarrassing to throw a tantrum like a 3 year old at my age...pray for me to get some good rest!!!

Thursday, June 12, 2008

Besides being tired...

I've said this before...but besides being tired and clothes not fitting the way I'd like them to, this pregnancy seems kind of unreal to me still. I know that's probably a bad thing to say, and I never thought I'd feel that way...I thought I'd be so ecstatic about being pregnant that things would all seem wonderful and I'd be super excited...but so far, I don't feel that. I have bouts of excitement and anxiety, but for the most part, it's hard to believe there's a baby in there. Not that I'm wishing for morning sickness and more symptoms...but thus far it's like I'm just waiting for a magical sign to show me I'm pregnant for real.

Maybe I'm just feeling disheartened because Game 4 is on and my team is not playing its best and I have to distract myself because I'm getting all irraz. Go team...a 17 point deficit is NOTHING.

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

What's Weird...

You know what's weird...telling someone you're pregnant, then seeing them keep glancing down to your tummy/breast area as they ask you questions. I guess I do this too, but I just notice how weird it is now. I mean, I suppose, where else are they going to look, but still...especially if it's a guy, it's just uncomfortable.

If the Celtics win this series, I'm going to convince Dave to name our baby Kevin. Heehee. Nah, too bad we already have a Kevin in our family because I actually like that name...

Speaking of names, we have chosen two. Jacob and Leah. No real significance...we like Jacob as a name, can't think of too many students named Jacob that are complete idiots. Leah is our favorite from Jon and Kate Plus 8...she's just adorable. Having the last name Colmenares makes choosing names a little bit more difficult being that we don't want our kid to suffer having a LONG first and last name. I always wanted Jeremiah, but Dave says Jeremiah Colmenares is too much for a kid. I guess I agree.

Finally got a body pillow...it's WONDERFUL!!! The sucky thing is the HEAT when I go to bed. I swear I wake up at night feeling like I'm on FIRE. I'm sure it's only going to get worse.

Monday, June 9, 2008

Week 14


This is NOT meant to be pornographic...I tried to cut out everything else except the tummy area. So here's the morning pic of Week 14. I guess next time I'll have Dave take a more side view shot, but being that the first one he took was only of my belly button (who knows why he thought he had to zoom so close), I figured I better just be happy with this second shot. I guess I should have started this photo documentation earlier...oh well.

June 8, 2008

Here's what's new...

It's freakin' irritating to put on a pants that I just wore a week or two ago, to find that my big butt barely allows the pants over it, then the impossibility of actually buttoning it becomes very apparent. In the meantime, Dave says everything looks "fine" even though it's so tight that every little bulge and crease in fat is showing. Then he gets irraz because I'm taking so long to put some clothes on...and I'm getting irraz because I can't figure out which damn shorts or pants actually fits. Even my freakin' overalls, whose main purpose was to cover any unsightly bumps, are stressed at the seams by my butt and belly. BTW men, the word "belly" in and of itself denotes "big", so I advise against calling your wife/girlfriend's stomach area a "belly." It goes with BEER BELLY and FAT BELLY, and those aren't words most of us want associated with our stomach. Maybe when my tummy actually looks like a pregnant "belly" instead of just a big "belly" I'll be less offended by it. For now, though, Dave knows better to refer to it as that. I know that the solution to not having tight clothes is to buy more, but being "frugal" I just keep thinking that it will be a waste because I'm only going to get BIGGER.

Coming soon...I'm hoping to remember to take pics every week in the morning so I can document the growing tummy. I say in the morning because I swear over the course of the day my stomach grows super plenty just 'cuz of BLOATING! That's one thing I'm not thrilled with...feeling like a balloon ready to pop after every meal. Dave doesn't appreciate the futting, but it has to come out somehow. Then again, I guess it's not fair for me to fut so much, then make such an issue about him futting because "my nose is sensitive." Hehe.

One positive...I can actually really fit an A-cup now, which for all of you similarly small-breasted women, is really a big deal!!! The only thing is that they're sensitive as heck.

I think that's all for now....

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

June 4, 2008

Just logging some symptoms...
  • major lower back/hip pain....I dunno if it's from the bed, the way I sleep, or what, but it hurts big time.
  • sleeplessness...I'm EXHAUSTED, but I have a hard time falling asleep, then after I fall asleep I have vivid, weird dreams, then get up to pee and can't fall asleep again...and the next day the cycle continues all over again
  • indecisiveness when it comes to food...then when I eat, it just doesn't taste as good as I wanted it to
  • Dave says - being irrational

That's it for now...