Monday, June 23, 2008

bloodwork, yuck...

I don't know why I'm such a panty about giving blood, but I am...it makes me feel kind of woozy as I sit in the chair. This was especially bad because she didn't just take out one little vial...she took out FIVE...and big ones too!! I told her, "Whoa, that much?!!" She probably thought I was such a big baby as I leaned over far away from where she was going to stick my arm and covered my eyes. I told her I guess I shouldn't be so scared of this when I gotta give birth in a little while...she just laughed. Then I had to pee, and I usually have to pee a lot but today only a little bit came out. Performance anxiety, I guess. Oh well, that's all done and now we go to the doctor on Wednesday to get results...

Speaking of the results...Dave and I, when questioned by the doctor about doing more extensive Down's Syndrome tests, were kind of like, "Why? Not like we going do anything if the tests come out that our baby has Down's." The doctor kind of just laughed and said yea, so we're just doing the regular blood test one. (Side note...my mom was 41 when she was pregnant with me, turning 42 that year...so Dave once said that I had a "mild case of Down's" to his parents...it was freakin' hilarious...dummy!!!)

So when would it be "okay" to terminate the pregancy....what if the doctor told us on Wednesday that our baby would be missing arms, or legs, or eyes, or something like that? What if the baby's insides weren't growing the way they were supposed to? What if there was some major deformity that would cause the child to have major complications throughout his/her life? Wouldn't it just be selfish, then, for us to bring a baby into the world, knowing that he/she would have to suffer for the rest of its life? Or would that be selfish of us to terminate the pregnancy? Dave and I talked about what we would and wouldn't terminate for...we're just leaving it in God's hands and trusting that He is forming our baby in the way He wants it...

1 comment:

Mrs. Tamashiro said...

I didn't take that test either. My doctor said there's a 40% chance it could be inaccurate if your due date is off by a couple of days. Plus, why worry with those odds.

And...we're watching all the Jon and Kates...all of them. Thanks, guys!