- move bookcase in bedroom out
- move bookcase from living room into bedroom; replace with a bigger bookcase in living room
- put together baby's bureau
- put together storage bin rack
- figure out what to do with enormous tv stand and crappy tv in bedroom (my idea, get rid of it...Dave's idea, replace it with a smaller tv because we NEED a tv in the extra bedroom)
Dave is in the bedroom, where he has been for the past 2 1/2 hours, putting the bureau together. He also moved the bed and file cabinet around and took all the crap off the of the old bookcase. What a good husband...especially cuz it's hot as heck in there and I don't want to help.
We went to Kmart and Sears and looked at some cribs...I was totally against the idea of a crib in the beginning, but have been convinced that it's a good idea. We actually found one we like on Babiesrus.com, but the freakin' shipping was going to be $105 on a crib that costs $160 and I just thought that was ridiculous. We're going to check out Toys R Us and Craigslist...figure we can find something locally instead of being suckers for the shipping costs.
I dunno if it's a local thing or if my family just didn't buy all kinds of special fancy baby stuff, but I'm pretty clueless as to what kinds of things we're supposed to be looking for as far as baby stuff goes. I know I want a cosleeper for when baby is newborn, a boppy for breastfeeding, and I need to figure out what kind of pump, bottle sterilizer/washer thingy, and baby bath tub I want, but beyond that, I figure the rest is just wants instead of needs. I'm sure I'll get all kinds of advice about stuff that I NEED, but I hope I don't turn into a crazy baby crap hoarder. I actually got up last night and started thinking that Dave and I needed to cancel our 1 year anniversary dinner (I wanted to go to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse) because that's just frivolous money that we need to spend on baby stuff. I told him I'll buy some steaks and a lobster tail from Costco and we'll save money and eat at home. He's okay with that idea so I think we're going to do it that way instead. Dang, babies are expensive.
1 comment:
As far as pumps go, you need a Medela Pump in Style. I tried a manual Avent Isis and a cheaper Medela, and neither worked well. The Pump in Style is the best, bar none. You get two sides at a time, and though you feel like a cow being milked, your baby will be well fed. It's the best baby purchase I ever made.
Oh, you definitely need a Bjorn, too!
And you don't need a sterilizer...unless things have changed since my two were born. Plus, if you're exclusively b/f, you won't need but a couple of bottles and liners for the pumped milk.
Anyway, before I start writing a novel, I better just end it here.
Post a Comment