Thursday, June 25, 2009

So...reading in my Ferber book...Caleb doesn't fully fit the descriptions of kids in there who need sleep help. For example, the closest one talks about a girl who wakes up several times throughout the night and needs her parents to rock her to sleep each time...also, to be put to bed, she needs to be rocked. There's another one who needs the parent/s to be lying down with her/him before going to bed, and then when waking in the night, needs the parents to do that with him again.

Caleb needs to be held to go to sleep, or needs to be in close proximity to Dave and I on our bed, then moved to his crib...and then he wakes up once at night (usually...never more than once, sometimes he'll go until 4 or 5 a.m.), is fed, and promptly goes back to sleep. He has learned a sleep association of being held before sleeping...which I guess is what we're trying to eliminate, so that when he wakes up in the night, he can go back to sleep on his own. I'm still confused about the waking for feeding, though. It's not like he does it often, only once per night, and when he does wake up, he's not just snacking, he's drinking his 4-6 oz...so I dunno if that's something we want to eliminate or if it's something that he still needs at this point. He's being fed about 4 T of solids at breakfast and at dinner...depending on what he's being fed, he'll eat all or less. He'll drink about 25-30 oz. per 24 hours.

So, we're going to try to teach him to fall asleep on his own for the next few nights. The only thing that sucks is that we're going to Maui on the 3rd, so his sleep schedule is going to be a little off then, and then we'll have to get him back on track again once we come back. I gave out the letters and a little candy to the neighbors to warn them that they might hear vigorous, intense crying for the next week or so at bedtime. We'll see how it all goes, and how much crying I do in the next few nights too!

Eating...he's had sweet potato, carrots, peas, and is now on green beans. Besides the sweet potato, he's not too fond of the other ones so far. Carrots seemed to make him a little bit constipated...he had hard doodoo and didn't make a good poop until we gave him sweet potato again. He hates peas and isn't doing too good on green beans. Those are the four veggies we've given him so far so today I want to go to the store and see what else there is. Haven't tried poi yet, either...I guess that counts as a veggie, right? After veggies, doctor said to start him on veg beef and veg chicken mix. Then after that's good...we'll move to fruits, then combos for b, l, and d.

He really likes to sit up now on his own...can't get to that position by himself, but will sit for a long time when we put him there. Still doing the rocking on the knees and seems to be getting frustrated that he can't move the way he wants to.

His drooling is beyond nutts...but his top teeth haven't come in yet. He wants to gnaw on everything these days and rubs his ears a lot...which according to the book could be an indication that he's having pain as his teeth try to emerge (no ear infection, I'm pretty sure).

Needs another haircut before we go on our trip...it's funny cuz the top is okay, but the sides are starting to stick out so it looks weird.

Off to Costco now to put gas and buy chicken. Dave gets two teeth pulled today so that's going to suck...two babies cuz I know Dave doesn't deal with pain well. I'll feed him Caleb's leftover peas, green beans, and carrots...yea right...he'd refuse any mention of vegetables.

No comments: