Saturday, October 3, 2009

So anyways, he finally got caught, after a couple of weeks...

So I asked Dave if he thinks Caleb will try to pull that kind of crap with us. I could foresee myself being the hounding mom, making sure Caleb did all his work, double checking, making him redo, etc. I also see, though, that the kids I have who are sneaky about whiting crap out of their planner, "forgetting" their planner on the day I'm stamping grades, etc, are the ones whose parents (usually moms) are on top of them and give them hell for missing work and falling behind. So will my hounding be the cause of his sneaky behavior?

I don't remember being hounded to do my work...I just did. Dave says his parents only hounded him if he wasn't getting his stuff done...so to avoid getting hounded, he did what he needed to do. I just can't see myself not being very involved in Caleb's education...like not looking in his folders and not checking his homework every night would be weird to me. But I would also want him to learn to be independently responsible and not just on it cuz I'm on it for him...

I guess if we set the foundation up from the beginning, early education, he should be in the habit when he gets to those slacking intermediate years. I hope he has something like athletics to motivate him to do well too, and that he doesn't succumb to the pressure of being the cool dumbass.

In a way, I do hope Caleb is one of those awkward boys who doesn't blossom until he's a man so that the social part doesn't catch up with him until later on in life...hehe...like his daddy...people think I'm a butt for saying it, but seriously, you gotta see Dave's intermediate and high school pictures...

Anyways, I'm going to keep learning all the tricks these damn kids have up their sleeves so hopefully Caleb will never be able to pull one over me...lol.

No comments: