I'm hella tired. It's almost 4 p.m. and I want to go home but one kid's parent just left Waianae and is on her way to pick him up so I'm here. And two other kids are still working on their science.
Caleb turned ONE yesterday...nutts. He enjoyed himself with lots of attention from the two grammas, grampa, and uncle Mark and aunty Leisha. He also got two new toys to play with, a new book, and a soft blanket. He's not much of a present opener...doesn't really know what to do with it and is so distractable, but it's all good.
He got to eat some cake with frosting...it caused me anxiety for him to get his hands all dirty, but luckily he was pretty good about it, just sticking his fingers in the frosting and not mashing the entire thing. He didn't even stick his finger in his mouth to taste the frosting...weirdo. He enjoyed eating the cake, and didn't seem to get too crazy afterwards. He actually had a pretty late night, and woke up crying a little bit at around 12 but then went back to sleep on his own until 5:30. Hopefully he didn't have sore stomach today!
Good thing I've been keeping this blog from his debut cuz I'm sure I would have forgotten most of the milestones by now. It's crazy to look at his picture right after birth, and then to see him now. I can still remember the trauma of birth and the first three months...man, that sucked. But now things are MUCH better and at least we have a taste of what it can be like so we won't be totally blindsided when Brynna comes along.
12 more weeks until baby #2. For some reason I think she's coming sooner than her due date. Caleb was two days later than his due date...we'll see. Her movements are definitely more noticeable now but she doesn't seem to move around as much as Caleb did. He was nutts, though, and still is, so maybe she'll be calmer. She seems to move around mainly in response to what I eat and drink. My stomach is huge, but sits much lower than it did with Caleb. Then again, he was so huge that there really wasn't any room for him to be any lower. I wonder if she'll be as big as him...I'm thinking not, but who knows. In a way, I want another big baby, but I definitely don't look forward to the after-effects of popping a huge baby out.
Two more days before break. Tomorrow I'll tell two of my classes that I won't be with them after break, and then the next day I'll tell the other three. I meet the new teacher tomorrow...she's finishing up her student teaching at Moanalua (high school, I think) right now, so at least she'll have a little bit of experience. I'm anxious...I know it's out of my control and that it'll be all good, but I'm still scared. That's my pride and ego, though...can't let go of the control.
Break should be interesting. My mom won't be here, so Caleb will have withdrawals. My dad will come up for Christmas and that will be interesting to see him integrated with Dave's filipino "family." I'm not looking forward to figuring out three meals a day, nor am I looking forward to spending more money since we'll be at home. It's going to suck too that break is a week shorter. We won't be going home to Maui at all during break just cuz it's too expensive and too humbug. I can't even imagine how often we'll make it home after Brynna is born...especially if my mom sells her house...where will we stay??? That'll be interesting.
Frick, I just wanna go home....go home, kids...get out of here already!!! Lol.
1 comment:
I hear you. Leaving at 4 is crazy. It's the fact that kids are in the room constantly. It's soooo draining. By the time I get home, I just want to veg!
When Brynna's born, you're gonna be a pro. Everything just seems easier.
Post a Comment