Sunday, October 31, 2010

happy halloween

last year i made sure to have caleb's costume made ahead of time...wanted to make sure it was simple but cute and homemade.

this year, i figured that brynna could just use caleb's costume from last year and caleb could wear a hapi coat...simple, cute and homemade.

so brynna was a tamago sushi and caleb was a sushi chef...it was cute because the hapi coat we had for him had sushi on it so it matched perfectly.

our plan for the day was to pick up tash and head to pearlridge ahead of time so that parking wouldn't be crazy. we ate lunch at farrel's and walked around a little bit, looking at the cute little kids. we left a little after two so the trick or treating had just started. i told dave we were NOT trick or treating with these two little ones cuz they don't eat candy and it is so obvious that we'd just be scamming candies for ourselves.

for next year i'm thinking mario and luigi...and i'm thinking that for as long as they let me, i'm going to make them match for halloween. lots of duos for them to be...i'll just copy what leish and i have done for the past ten years. mario and luigi, wilma and betty, tigger and piglet, care bears, crayons...lol.

Friday, October 29, 2010

brynbryn, 8 months

brynna just made 8 months on the 25th...how nutts is that??? she still doesn't crawl in the normal on the knees style, but she's quite adept at "worming" her way around quite quickly. i haven't seen it yet, but my mom says she even "crawled" up the step by our doorway.

she sits up nicely now and can transition from lying to sitting very quickly. her newest thing, though, is that she is able to pull herself up to standing position on the couch and in her crib. she loves to stand up...i'm wondering if she'll start walking before caleb did (i think he was ten months when he started).

she's eating breakfast, lunch and dinner now. she's been through veggies, beef, chicken and turkey, and tomorrow she's starting her first fruits. after she's done with this last box of mixed cereal i'll probably start making her rice, meat and veggies homemade food for lunch and dinner and just use the fruits and oatmeal or rice cereal for breakfast.

can't believe my baby is such a big girl already!

Thursday, October 28, 2010

caleb, the character

so, caleb now enjoys watching basketball (which he can actually say!!!) and will clap when the guys make it and then so "no, no" when they don't. the other day he fell down and gave me his hand to pick him up....my mom tells me that he learned that from watching them do that in basketball (especially the celtics, that's their thing). so he proceeds to continually fall down and raise his hand up for someone to help him up...too funny.

he's also learned, from my mom, that when he gets an "owie" all he has to do is have it kissed and it will be pau. i noticed him making me kiss his hand the other day for something...tonight he fell off the couch and started crying so i thought he was really hurt...i go over there and see a bit of red on his forehead from hitting something when he fell...but he gives me his hand to kiss over and over and instantly his tears stop.

Sunday, October 24, 2010

daddy

caleb is now calling both dave and i "daddy." for a while he had it right, then recently he started referring to me as "daddy" too. don't know why and no matter how many times we tell him that i'm "mommy," he refuses to say it. he'll stand by me, yelling "daddy, daddy, daddy" trying to get my attention and will get more and more upset if i don't respond to him. grrrr. oh well. i guess it's either "daddy" or "em" that he knows me by...

Thursday, October 21, 2010

family bed

last night was the first night since he was a baby that caleb slept in our bed. he actually got up at around 3 am, walked to our room, and climbed in bed with us. at first when he got in bed with us i was worried because it usually means he is up and wants to hang out and will proceed to wake up his sister...but he just lie there, covered himself up with the blanket, and went to sleep. i'm not sure at what point i realized he had made doodoo, but i didn't get up to change him until about 530. somewhere in the time that he was with us brynna woke up and drank milk, but caleb still kept sleeping.

now i'm wondering if he's going to start transferring himself from his bed to ours on a nightly basis. we don't put the fence up anymore, and i don't really want to do that...but i'm not sure how i feel about him sleeping with us and growing a dependence on that. i mean, i know i slept with my mom in her bed until the 3rd grade and the only reason i moved from there was because she got a boyfriend and i was forced to move out...lol. had that not happened, i probably would have been content to sleep with my mom forever...i didn't sleep with her throughout high school, but i used to sleep with her when i was home from college and even after that....hehe. so i guess i would be hypocritical if i didn't let caleb sleep with us...but the difference is that it's an "us" and not just me. i was only sleeping with my mom so that's different, right? lol. i dunno.

anyways, last night wasn't a good sleep so i'm about ready to crash. it feels like it's been such a long week already and it's only wednesday!!!!!

Monday, October 18, 2010

more experiences

this weekend, in an effort to give caleb "more experiences," we decided to do something different on saturday instead of just picking tash up, eating lunch, and lounging around the house.

saturday morning we decided to check out the kanoelani craft fair....underwhelming. i thought there would be more games and stuff caleb could do, but there really wasn't. plus it started raining so it was crowded on the sidewalks and muddy on the grass. he played a fish game but wasn't really enthusiastic about it. we left there pretty quickly.

headed to nanding's to pick up spanish rolls (yum-may!!!!) to take to dave's parent's house later on that night.

dropped the spanish rolls off at home and headed to pearlridge to pass some time before we had to pick tash up from her psat's. cruised around a little bit. the healthy baby contest was going on at center stage but we didn't hang around there too much cuz it was so crowded. caleb looked around in razor (didn't know they had kid toys in there too) and surprisingly didn't throw a fit when we said it was time to go.

headed to punahou to pick up tash, then to bangkok chef to grab lunch. drove to kakaako, sat under a tree and ate lunch...and realized what a big boy caleb has become. he sat there, with his half a styrofoam carton as his plate and a plastic fork in his hand, contentedly eating his pad thai. when he finished what was on his plate, he asked for more ("more bite"), i gave him more noodles, and he went back to eating. doesn't seem like much, but having him be this independent is a big wow for me.

after lunch we headed over to the discovery center because we had never been there before and wanted to check it out before deciding if we wanted to purchase a yearly pass. caleb loved it. he especially loved the bus and fire truck....just sitting in the driver's seat, spinning the wheel! he liked playing with the big legos and just having the freedom to run around and touch stuff. the biggest sucky part about that place is that they don't allow strollers inside so we had to carry brynna around, which gets hella tiring after a while!

after more than an hour of playing, we told caleb it was time to go...of course, he started to pitch a fit and we distracted him by telling him to say bye-bye to everything we passed...hehe...love little tricks of distraction!

at this point i think i was just as, if not more, pooped as the kids. both of them eventually passed out on the ride home and even i ended up passing out right before we pulled into our neighborhood. it was a full day and we were anticipating dinner at dave's parent's house with his uncle and three aunties who are visiting from the philippines. luckily, though, we ended up not having to go to dinner because dave's mom had some car trouble so we just cruised at home.

today we went to church, which we're trying to do weekly. there were two little filipino boys sitting in front of us and at the beginning of church caleb was so intently watching the little boy eat his cream cracker that the mom finally turned around and handed one to him....so shame. caleb, though, was sooo happy eating his little cream cracker and drinking his milk. the older little filipino boy turned around and shook his head at brynna when she started to make noise...lol. caleb behaved at about a 6 on a scale of 10, only throwing a mini-fit once. turned out he was tired cuz on our way home he knocked out.

that was our weekend...and now i'm done...tired....two day weekends are not long enough...lol.

Thursday, October 14, 2010

mr talkative

hehe...well, not really, but he is talking a LOT more now. he's starting to even get into two word sentences. his talking revolves a lot around food..."more bite", "milk", "all pau"...lol.

it's amazing what a week can do...because although it didn't seem to change much for us since we were with him the whole week, my mom noticed that he is talking a lot more. thank goodness because for a while there we were getting kind of worried. everyone told me, though, that once he decided to talk, it would start flowing real quick...and it did!

one thing caleb refuses to say, though, is MOMMY. he's got "daddy" and "baba" down, but try to make him say "mommy" and he just won't. whatever. i know he's still mommy's boy!!!! lol.

cry it out

soooo...as i mentioned, we failed to fully let brynna cry it out and put herself to sleep over the break. yesterday she had a really hard time with naps and tired my mom out because she wouldn't stay sleeping once she was put down in her crib.

last night dave was putting her to sleep but she kept doing the crying thing once she was put down. finally he had enough of it and told me he just wanted to let her cry it out and he didn't understand why i was opposed to it. i told him i wanted to wait for a break but he said that we should just do it already....so i said okay...and i picked her up, carried her for a little bit, told her that she needed to go nene already and that we would be right in the other room, and put her into the crib.

she cried...and cried...and cried. more like yelled and screamed and screeched. she did it for about 35-40 minutes before she passed out. my mom asked me on several occasions if i wanted her to carry brynna, but i said no...we made a commitment to it and so we just gotta let her cry. it's hard to hear her screeching like that but at least she slept until 1, got up and drank milk, then slept until 4 again. we want to eliminate one feeding, but she doesn't eat enough throughout the day yet and i don't want to starve her. :-)

we'll see how tonight goes...hopefully, like caleb when we cried it out with him, she'll cry for less time tonight and it will get better and better.

Sunday, October 10, 2010

fall break, almost pau

soooo....did we get brynna to sleep better???? not really. did we let her cry it out??? not really. the other night she woke up only once, which was good, last night she woke up twice, not too bad. i told dave, this is our last baby, guess we better just roll with her wakings and be thankful for it and remember that we won't be doing it again so we should "enjoy" it while we can. lol.

caleb's tempermental tantrums are driving me a bit mad, but i'm told it's the age. he's so freakin bipolar (like me!) that it's not even funny. he'll be screaming his head off one minute, then smiling like it's all good the next. craaaazzzyyy. my constant reminder of my own bipolar behavior. sheesh. knowing me and bachi, i'll have a bipolar son and a sassy daughter. wonder what traits of dave will come back to bite him in the butt.

we're starting to give brynna breakfast along with lunch and dinner. she's gone through sweet potato, peas, and carrots. so far her favorite is peas...weirdo. i'm thinking after these last few containers of veggies are gone, i'm gonna start making my own...broccoli, spinach, squash, then start adding in the meats and veggies together. hopefully the more she eats, the better she'll sleep...

having these breaks makes me so thankful for both dave and i being teachers. it's nice to spend a week of straight up one on one time with the kids. well, with the kids and other family members...lol.