this weekend, in an effort to give caleb "more experiences," we decided to do something different on saturday instead of just picking tash up, eating lunch, and lounging around the house.
saturday morning we decided to check out the kanoelani craft fair....underwhelming. i thought there would be more games and stuff caleb could do, but there really wasn't. plus it started raining so it was crowded on the sidewalks and muddy on the grass. he played a fish game but wasn't really enthusiastic about it. we left there pretty quickly.
headed to nanding's to pick up spanish rolls (yum-may!!!!) to take to dave's parent's house later on that night.
dropped the spanish rolls off at home and headed to pearlridge to pass some time before we had to pick tash up from her psat's. cruised around a little bit. the healthy baby contest was going on at center stage but we didn't hang around there too much cuz it was so crowded. caleb looked around in razor (didn't know they had kid toys in there too) and surprisingly didn't throw a fit when we said it was time to go.
headed to punahou to pick up tash, then to bangkok chef to grab lunch. drove to kakaako, sat under a tree and ate lunch...and realized what a big boy caleb has become. he sat there, with his half a styrofoam carton as his plate and a plastic fork in his hand, contentedly eating his pad thai. when he finished what was on his plate, he asked for more ("more bite"), i gave him more noodles, and he went back to eating. doesn't seem like much, but having him be this independent is a big wow for me.
after lunch we headed over to the discovery center because we had never been there before and wanted to check it out before deciding if we wanted to purchase a yearly pass. caleb loved it. he especially loved the bus and fire truck....just sitting in the driver's seat, spinning the wheel! he liked playing with the big legos and just having the freedom to run around and touch stuff. the biggest sucky part about that place is that they don't allow strollers inside so we had to carry brynna around, which gets hella tiring after a while!
after more than an hour of playing, we told caleb it was time to go...of course, he started to pitch a fit and we distracted him by telling him to say bye-bye to everything we passed...hehe...love little tricks of distraction!
at this point i think i was just as, if not more, pooped as the kids. both of them eventually passed out on the ride home and even i ended up passing out right before we pulled into our neighborhood. it was a full day and we were anticipating dinner at dave's parent's house with his uncle and three aunties who are visiting from the philippines. luckily, though, we ended up not having to go to dinner because dave's mom had some car trouble so we just cruised at home.
today we went to church, which we're trying to do weekly. there were two little filipino boys sitting in front of us and at the beginning of church caleb was so intently watching the little boy eat his cream cracker that the mom finally turned around and handed one to him....so shame. caleb, though, was sooo happy eating his little cream cracker and drinking his milk. the older little filipino boy turned around and shook his head at brynna when she started to make noise...lol. caleb behaved at about a 6 on a scale of 10, only throwing a mini-fit once. turned out he was tired cuz on our way home he knocked out.
that was our weekend...and now i'm done...tired....two day weekends are not long enough...lol.
No comments:
Post a Comment