Here's the update on the breastfeeding situation...ooh, even the word "breastfeeding" makes me feel anxiety... Anyways, we're pumping and feeding him what we can. It still takes me about 3 pump sessions to get a good 2 ounces to feed him...needless to say, that means we are supplementing a lot with formula. It's encouraging to hear that any breast milk I can give him will be helpful and that there are a lot of people, myself, Leish, Chaylor, etc, who were fed formula and turned out to be healthy, wonderful people. Heehee. I'm also comforted to know that this whole breastfeeding chaos and frustration isn't something only I've gone through...I've heard from several people that they have had really hard situations too...that's comforting.
Today was a hungry, hungry day for Caleb. Luckily, with all of the power outage craziness of last night, Caleb wasn't affected at all. He slept soundly, got up to eat every two hours or so, and was all good. I was scared of putting him so far away in the bassinet in the complete darkness so I kept him on the bed with me last night...but though he sleeps soundly with me next to him, I could barely keep my eyes closed for more than a few minutes before I was opening up to check on him, make sure he was positioned correctly, etc. Every move he made, I was up. It wasn't a restful sleep at all.
As for Dave...he's been a wonderful dad...he gets up with me for every feeding, we still tag team on the diaper changes, he's better at burping Caleb than I am. He's been super supportive when I've been down about breastfeeding. I'm kind of scared of how it's going to be when he has to go back to school...I'm going to miss him a lot, that's for sure!!! One thing I've noticed is that as the days have gone by he gets less and less coherent during the nighttime wake ups...he would sleep through Caleb's cries unless they get violently loud, whereas I'm up with every whimper and move.
Caleb's umbilical stump fell off yesterday and his ding ding is pretty much healed. We gave him his first full bath today and he was a champ...didn't cry at all!!! He seemed to enjoy the warm water being poured over his huge body.
Another experience...he made us go through 3 diapers in one changing last night as the doodoo kept squirting out...it was kind of funny, but hopefully that doesn't happen too often.
Caleb is like me in that he inhales his food, gets very fussy when his food doesn't come immediately, and then gets gassy because he doesn't savor his meal. Besides that, though, he's mellow like his daddy...and loud like both of us when we're angry.
Today was a good day...
No comments:
Post a Comment