Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Yay for 4 hour sleeps and some solid naps today!!! I'm praying that his sleeps continue to be good tonight. Last night we fed him at around 8:45 and he went down before 10. He didn't wake up again until 1:45...he ate, then woke up again at 5:30. Getting up twice as opposed to 3-4 times is MUCH better!!!

Today he took some good naps...at least 30 minute naps, which is wonderful for him. I was bouncing him to get him to go to sleep this afternoon (around 1:30ish) and then I had to pee so I put him on the counter on a towel next to me...even though it was just for a little bit, he started to fuss so I turned on the blow dryer...and lo and behold, he fell asleep!!!! I left him there for about five minutes contemplating if I should pick him up or just let him take a nap there (with me in there with him, of course!) but decided napping on the bathroom counter is not a good idea. So I picked him and the blow dryer up and carried them to our bedroom. I put him down, turned on the blow dryer, and watched to see if he would put himself to sleep again. I also gave him the sports bra I wear to bed so he had my smell near him. He fussed a bit, looked around, then after about ten minutes, went to sleep on his own and slept for a solid half hour!!! Yay. So I'm thinking we should put him in his crib as he gets sleepy tonight after his last feed and then turn on the blow dryer and let him start getting used to sleeping on his own instead of in our arms...granted, though, that then makes him become dependent on the sound of the hair dryer to fall asleep...we'll see.

I was just telling Dave today, "Remember how he used to freakin' cry almost all day before?? Thank goodness he's getting better!" It's true...from the time my mom left until now, he's grown up a lot. She left when he was about 6 weeks old, which they say is about the height of terribleness for a colicky kid...and that it dissipates and then finally disappears around 3 months of age (or goes on till about 6 months for some). I dunno if it's colic that he has, but his fussiness spells are mainly in the evening now...and it's getting less and less...or we're getting smarter and smarter and nipping it before it gets full blown.

I keep thinking that the first month is the terrible part and that I'm glad it's over...now people keep saying, "Oh, wait til he crawls and walks...then it's all over!" Hehe...I guess there's going to be goods and bads at each age...

No comments: