Our trip to Maui was a success!!!!! Caleb did wonderfully on the plane ride...the key was that he was eating both ways so he was content and sucking so the pressure didn't bother him. Getting through security wasn't as bad as I thought it might be too. We gate checked our stroller, stocked our diaper bag well, and it was all good. No problems with taking water bottle through for his formula either.
Sleeping turned out to be better than expected too....the first night he slept for seven hours...which is about as good as it got for him up until then. The second night he slept for EIGHT hours...from 11-7, which was UNBELIEVABLE. Then our last night there, when we were thinking he couldn't possibly top that, he slept for NINE hours!!!!! Wow!!! His naps, though still short (about half hour to 45 minutes), are getting more consistent and he's pretty much got a rhythm going...eat, peaceful happy wakefulness, sleepiness, nap, get up, fuss, eat...continue the pattern throughout the day. His whole weekend was pretty dang wonderful...so of course when we returned to reality we found that he wasn't quite done with fit throwing...he had a hard evening so we were thinking that he would have a hard night too...but nope, he ate at around 8:45, went to sleep. He fussed a little at around 3 a.m. cuz he had kicked off his blanket and was cold, but I turned on the blow dryer, covered him up with a thicker blanket, went to make shishi, and when I returned he was sleeping soundly again. Unfortunately I wasn't able to go sleep soundly again after that but oh well. He started making noise again at 5:15ish, so I did the blow dryer thing again, and he slept again until about 6:15 when he got up and ate. LOVE IT!!!
We're finding that 4 ounces isn't really satisfying him anymore so I think we're bumping it up to 5 all the time...he's eating more frequently throughout the day (less than 3 hours apart), but that allows him to sleep for longer at night. Wow. I don't want to jinx it yet since it's always the case that I say he's doing good and he flips the script on us...
No comments:
Post a Comment