Saturday, April 3, 2010

sleep, or lack thereof...

brynna has been relatively good as far as sleeping goes...relatively being a loose term, since i only have caleb to compare it to and he was a crazy, colicky little one. i have not had the experience of a baby sleeping for 12 hours like some lucky people (blake!). she's still eating every 2-3 hours...seems like a lot, but i dunno. sheez, caleb was almost 12 pounds when he was her age...so she still seems little to me. it's hard to remember his bobble-head days...i can't wait until her neck gets stronger cuz it's so weird to handle the bobble head...

today brynna has been especially gassy and uncomfortable. she seems to be most at ease when being fed by my mom...especially uneasy when being fed by dave. last night she had a 245-515 a.m. fussy, no like be put down period. dave fed her, she fussed, he carried her, she fussed, he tried to feed her again, she fussed and on and on. i took her from him about 400...she fussed, ate 2 oz, fussed, wanted to be carried, then finally passed out and allowed me to put her down. needless to say, waking up at 615 was not fun and i'm hella tired now. luckily i got in a little nap today after lunch...but i'm sure i will feel the tired hitting as brynna wakes up for her feedings tonight.

for the most part she's been giving us a good night followed by a rough night...thankfully, i guess. right now she's lying on her boppy with a paci in her mouth and she's sleeping.

she doesn't seem to have many awake times...she's a big sleeper during the day, which sucks. i'm going to borrow the baby whisperer book from the library on monday and see what i can do to improve her sleep cycle.

1 comment:

Mrs. Tamashiro said...

Amy, you are doing great. The second one always feels easier, huh! I remember with Kahia, the lack of sleep really got to me. I remember being in tears after 9 months of waking up to feed him every freaking 2 hours. I thought I was going crazy.