Just yesterday I said that Caleb was starting to sleep for longer stretches...last night he got up at 12:30, 3:30, 5:30, 7:30...dangit. And keep in mind that those two hour stretches aren't two hours of sleep time...more like an hour of sleep time after it takes about an hour to feed, change, and put him down. I swear it seems like he sleeps for longer stretches in the daytime than at night. I'm so scared of when Dave goes back to work next week and I'm going to have to handle these wakings all on my own. Right now the routine is that I grab Caleb once he wakes up and Dave makes his bottle. Then one of us (the less tired one) will feed and burp him, we'll both change him, and then (usually) I'll rock him until he goes to sleep. Last night for the 3:30 waking Dave had to do it mostly on his own...I was just too tired. The sucky part, though, is that when I do it mostly on my own, Dave is able to get back in bed, have his head hit the pillow, and sleep. I, on the other hand, am not able to go back to sleep for real until Caleb is sleeping again and Dave is back in bed.
For a couple of nights we had Caleb in bed with us...last night we put him back in the bassinet because I don't want him (or me) to get too used to having him in bed. The good part is that my sleep is deeper because I'm not worried about having him right next to me and I don't get up with his every movement. The sucky part, though, is that I hop out of bed several times after we put him down to check him, especially because he makes so much noise and false alarm cries when he's settling into his sleep. Plus too, I'm so freakin' paranoid cuz there's so much mention of SIDS in all these baby books that I read.
Anyways, needless to say, today I'm freakin' tired. We're picking up Tash for the first time since Caleb's arrival...she's excited to get to see him! She has her first volleyball game today, and usually we'd go and watch, but today we're just going to pick her up after her game is done. We haven't seen her since they visited us in the hospital right after Caleb was born...and prior to that we hadn't seen her for a week so it's been a while.
Tomorrow Caleb makes three weeks old. Wow.
No comments:
Post a Comment