Last night was another tough night...maybe I was just too tired, or the incessant crying from the day wore me out...but when Caleb had his 2:45 a.m. feeding, then started fussing and yelling and refusing to eat...and wouldn't be consoled by anything...and it got to be an hour later...I had to put him down and wake Dave up to take him for a little bit. Dave calmed him down while I tried to calm myself down, then I took him back and we all went to sleep. Caleb didn't sleep in the bassinet at all last night...he was on me for most of the night until my back got too sore and I handed him over to Dave...at 6:25 when Caleb started fussing again, Dave took him. I asked him to let me sleep for 20 more minutes...I should have gotten up and taken Caleb, though, because when Dave left for school this morning he looked EXTREMELY tired.
I have been trying to pass Caleb's crying fits off as "fussiness" but I think he definitely has moved into the realm of "colicky" now...according to everything I've read, he has the symptoms...incessant crying (pretty much everyday), unconsolable crying, and fierce, angry, painful sounding crying with the arched back, flailing arms and legs, and piercing shrieks, even when he's fed, burped, changed. According to the readings, colic starts around 2-3 weeks of age (which is when it started with Caleb), then peaks at around 6-8 weeks (where he's at now), and eases up around 3-4 months of age...whew...I don't know what "peaks" means, but he's had some rough days lately. I'm praying that after the "peak" will mean a decline...but sheez, 3-4 months? I have to keep reminding myself that colic isn't caused by me...and that no metter what I do, he will have crying fits. I gotta also find a way to keep calm...because when he's wailing and fighting me off of him as I carry him, especially in the dead of night, it gets hard to not want to just give up and feel like a total failure.
No comments:
Post a Comment