Monday, June 14, 2010

busted lip and potty

last night we went to target for a little bit and instead of putting caleb in the cart, which we usually do, we decided to see how he would be walking around instead. i put his panda backpack/leash on and off we went. he mainly held my hand and was really good...he attempted to touch many things, but listened when we told him no. he only had to be pulled off from climbing a shelf once. brynna was in the stroller and she was fine for the most part and when she started crying we took her out to carry and put caleb in the stroller.

today we went to wal-mart and decided to let caleb walk again. i was holding his hand and i guess i wasn't holding tightly enough because he ended up falling down and biting his bottom lip. it looked pretty bad and he was crying pretty loudly...dave said he's glad it was me holding caleb's hand so that he didn't get busted for it...lol. caleb likes to pull your arm and walk quickly and sometimes he gets all excited and starts doing a little dance which makes him fall. of course, if i was holding him more tightly it could have been prevented. dave said this will be only the first fat lip of many...yuck. i hope it's not too sore when i brush his teeth tonight. he's been fine since then, and i see him licking or sucking on his lip, so hopefully it's alright.

we bought him a little potty seat last night...decided to try it out after i heard from others that they were starting to use the potty. sat him on it for about 15 minutes today and though he didn't do anything, he wasn't scared either. he was most interested in reading his magazine and fake wiping with toilet paper. of course, at the end he wanted to flush the toilet, which i let him do. i'll put him on for a little bit tonight after i brush his teeth and we'll see what happens. i told dave for now lets just try to put him on when he wakes up, if we think he needs to doodoo, and before he goes to bed. those of you with boys...when do they do the stand up shishi? i'm scared of that cuz i hate that stink pee smell you get when there's boys in the house.

1 comment:

Mrs. Tamashiro said...

sitting down only...rewards for sitting...catch 'em doing good. if he for some reason does pee when you put him on in the morning, give him a treat so he'll associate the two...