hehe...caleb seems to be getting better so that means i'm at work this week and dave gets to stay home with the kiddies.
yesterday, after the second restless night because of caleb being sick, i was pooped. i actually passed out on the couch when dave's parents were over and didn't even get to say bye to them. oops. caleb also seemed pooped and he put up no fight whatsoever when it was time for bed. since i knew i was coming in to work today, i decided i better get to bed early too and was passed out before 10.
now i'm at work...it's the second period and the kids are working. summer school, even with some guys who need to make up credit, hasn't been too bad. we have three weeks left (counting this week) and the pace of the class is pretty quick so it doesn't get too boring. the kids have now been exposed to both dave and me and so far i haven't heard any complaints. i think they recognize that dave has more ways to explain different concepts...hopefully they notice that i'm more organized and neat...lol.
i've always struggled with math...not like being in the lowest class kind of struggle, but always not getting the concepts and needing a lot of extra explanation and help. i wonder if i would have felt more confident in math if i hadn't been put in the "top" class...probably, since i always felt like such a dummy compared to these math whiz kids! looking at how some of these kids really, really, really struggle with basic math facts, it amazes me. i mean, i know you can always use a calculator, but why do they not know their multiplication table to twelve?? i thought that was just a given...you just memorize it. and forget about working with negative numbers...holy smokes. in a way, i kind of get "tracking" in math because i see some kids cruising and others flailing at the pace we're going and i don't know how to differentiate for them. since everything builds upon something else, when you lose several steps along the way, you're seriously lost. i dunno...i know the whole "against tracking" movement...but i feel for the kids who are barely grasping even at this point.
if i ever had to change from english to math...i'd only want to teach remedial math...lol...
No comments:
Post a Comment