Saturday, June 19, 2010

sick baby...hopefully just one!

poor caleb. yesterday we went to lunch with aunty leish and aunty deena and he just wasn't his usual happy-boy self. when we were going home i noticed his head was hot...and yep, he had a fever of 102. gave him some tylenol and he took a nap and it came down to 100. last night at around 2 a.m. i noticed he started to feel hot again...finally at 4 i gave him another dose of tylenol. both of us had junk sleeps. this morning his fever was still 101 so we called the doctor and made an appointment. at the doctor's his fever was 102.3...doctor told me to keep giving him alternating ibuprofen and acetaminophen and watch for rash, red eyes, red lips, swollen hands and feet, which could be kawasaki disease. hello, super scary. he said he doesn't think that's it, but just to be on the lookout for it. if it's roseola, which caleb had before, the fever should break in a day or two and then we'll see the rash come out. if it's just a cold, he'll get better as it passes.

the scariest part is him getting brynna sick. so far we've tried to keep them separated for the most part...he's in his room with me, brynna's with dave. when i bring him out and she's out here he wants to touch her but we keep him away. i know it's inevitable that we'll have both kids sick at times, but i don't want her to be sick at such a young age.

looks like dave might be going in to work on monday...i don't wanna leave sick babies...

No comments: