yesterday was my first day without kids...and boy was it BORING. i tried my best to figure out what to do without any real direction...looked in some books and took notes on reading strategies, vocabulary strategies, cornell notes, and other stuff that i thought might be good to share with other departments. at 1:00 p.m. tom and i met with boss to figure out what i'm really supposed to be doing...so my assignment for the next 8.5 weeks is...work with social studies, teach, model and observe reading strategies, vocab strategies, and cornell notes! at least my time spent in the morning will be helpful and in the afternoon i was able to start coming up with some notes and forms that i'll use with the teachers.
kay, but who are those teachers actually going to be? boss said she's going to say in general the social studies department and then tell them that if any are especially interested in getting some help in how to integrate literacy or learn different strategies, they can come to see me. she mentioned some specific names of teachers she wants me to work with...but i'm not really too comfortable about going up to them and saying, "You need help." lol...and no matter how i say it, for some peeps, in the back of their mind i know it's going to be taken personally. it'll be interesting. boss said if i can help one or two peeps in the time i have, that would be good. basically, counting this week, i have 9 weeks until my due date. thursday and friday and all of next week i'll be subbing in my class because zandra has a wedding she has to go to the mainland for...so in 7 weeks, we'll see if i'm really able to do much of anything.
oops, homeroom is pau so i guess i better get to work...lol...it's so lonely in this cave down here...in a way i like the peace and quiet, but i do miss being in the classroom with the kids...it's so weird to walk by my classroom and have it not be MY classroom for the time being...
No comments:
Post a Comment