Friday, December 24, 2010
christmas eve
caleb is sitting at the table, contentedly eating banana lumpia that our neighbor gave us. that and halohalo are two things that he and dave can enjoy together cuz i won't eat it.
we ate a panda feast for christmas eve dinner...lol. hey, at least we helped support the big island trip.
tomorrow i have a spiral ham to cook and leftover pumpkin crunch. we'll open presents, i'll write thank you cards, we'll clean up the house, and then we'll go look at christmas lights.
yay for our first christmas with all four of us.
Thursday, December 23, 2010
MOMMY
caleb did NOT cry at the doctor's office. he even showed shaka to the doctor and was very friendly to the nurse.
he is FINALLY calling me MOMMY. 2 years old...he decided to save it for my Christmas present!
brynbryn did NOT barf up her medicine yet. she doesn't like it, and fights like heck when we try to give it to her, but at least she hasn't done the projectile barfing like she's done before when we give her something she doesn't like.
what a wonderful few days it's been
tuesday morning we wake up with brynna with a fever and the notice caleb's pajama pants are wet...and there's a doodoo smell. turns out he had a massive case of diarrhea that exploded out of his diaper and down his leg. touching doodoo is not one of my favorite things...blech. cleaned him up and as soon as it was 8 we called the doctor's to see about bringing brynna in.
after brynna's appointment, where she was given antibiotics, we headed to drop dave off at his appointment, then i turned around with the two kids and headed back home to wait until he was done. during the day, caleb started to have a runny nose too.
dave's appointment was supposed to be done at around 230 and i didn't want him to have to wait for us, so i headed into town with the two at around 2. we drove around, and around, and around, and finally i parked on the street behind straub to wait for him. finally at around 330 the nurse called to say he was ready to be picked up. she wheeled him down and we headed straight for jack in the box cuz he hadn't eaten since the night before.
damn holiday traffic...took us an hour to get from the aiea off to our house. caleb ended up having a fever that night and being super congested and waking up and crying cuz he was having a hard time breathing.
to make matters worse...i had freakin jury duty on wednesday so dave's mom came down to help out since dave wasn't able to lift caleb at all and was in pain from his surgery. thankfully i got a ride into town with mark and leish was able to pick me up when the trial got cancelled so we got sent home.
caleb wasn't doing any better when i got home so we called to see if doctor could see him. luckily we got an appointment and doctor gave him antibiotics and cough syrup.
thankfully the two kids are not having high fevers anymore and brynna's runny nose seems to be a little bit better. caleb's is still running like crazy and getting thicker and discolored. other than that, though, he's pretty much back to himself.
dave is in more pain today, though, so that sucks. just praying for them to be better before the madness of new year's smoke kicks in and makes their breathing even worse. may just hole up in the house to avoid all of it so they don't get affected. i don't care...not much of a new year's eve type of person anyways...don't know if i could even make it to midnight...lol.
Tuesday, December 14, 2010
2 years old!
everybody says, "time flies," and it's true. i can't imagine that he's been with us for two whole years now. glad we've been chronicling his life here and in pics cuz my black brain can't remember lots of things already!
Saturday, December 4, 2010
talking and basketball
today while he was playing basketball dave was laughing cuz caleb has picked up the point guard's mannerisms. he'll hold the ball on his side and point with his finger here and there. so funny. i said hopefully he has skills to be a point guard cuz that's all he's going to be tall enough for. he has the bossy attitude that will serve him well on the court. hehe.
top teeth
Thursday, December 2, 2010
tired
i wonder what's going to happen if caleb wakes up like that while i'm on my trip. guess he'll have to make do with daddy comforting him. poor dave. i'll pray hard that caleb sleeps nicely while i'm gone.
i keep getting choked up when i'm putting them to sleep or carrying brynna...thinking that in a week i will be away from them. trips are necessary, but definitely difficult. i don't even want to think about leaving them for a week in the summertime.
Monday, November 29, 2010
brynna...9 months old already!!!
bryn-bryn had her 9 month check up today and here's the updates...
she's 29 inches long...90th percentile.
she weighs 19 lbs 6 oz...50th percentile.
her head is 17 inches...25th percentile.
she got poked for blood to check her iron, which was fine, and two shots for her vaccinations.
D=dave said when doctor did the tests to see if she would track an object as he moved it around, she would look at the object, then back at doctor, then at the object, then back at doctor...like she was wondering what this guy was doing. lol.
her orange, sticky ear gunk is all good...and he reminded dave to remind me not to stick stuff in there...just clean the outside part.
i'm wondering when she'll start to fuss about going to the doctor. So far I think she's still oblivious of where we're at...maybe when she's one she'll start to fuss...
like mother, like son
i'm highly irrational and prone to bouts of intense anger.
caleb is almost two years old and just like me.
everyone says two is bad and three is worse...yikes.
everyone also says that payback is inevitable...super duper yikes.
caleb is starting to show us just what FITS are. like everything says, it comes more at times when he's overly tired...today his nap was early so i suppose that's why he was so fit-erific.
hopefully he'll go down easy tonight instead of futting around with this and that in his room after he's put to bed.
Sunday, November 21, 2010
barfing on demand
caleb scarfed everything we gave him. milk, baby food, regular food, everything. he loved vegetables and will even eat grape tomatoes with me. he's getting a little bit more picky as he gets older, but he still has a big appetite. his favorite right now seems to be bread...any kind of bread. he's a starch boy and loves his rice too, even if it's brown rice. in fact, i think he likes our brown rice mix more than regular white rice because he doesn't like the way white rice sticks on his hand. caleb even used to love taking his vitamins at night...it was just another form of food to him.
brynna, on the other hand, isn't such a wonderful eater. she used to spill her milk all over the place and still often doesn't finish a bottle, even if it's only a 3 or 4 oz one. (at this age, caleb could easily drink 6 oz at one time.) she's eating better now, but will make a very funny face when introduced to something new. and when she really doesn't want to eat it, you better watch out because she will make herself barf. and not just nice little spit up barf....no, she does the dry heave followed by projectile barfing of the entire contents of her stomach. she did this several times when we tried to give her vitamins and even did it for the nurse when the nurse tried to force her to take the rotovirus vaccine, which is an oral vaccine. once i was feeding her carrots and she apparently didn't like that. the other day i tried giving her these yogurt melt things and after making her yuck face she proceeded to dry heave and barf her brains out.
for a couple weeks now i've been making her chicken, rice and broccoli for her lunch and dinner. tonight i made her beef, rice and carrots...so we'll see how she does tomorrow. at least she still had enough chicken mix for lunch so my mom won't have to deal with the barf and we'll see how she takes it for dinner.
i wonder if this will continue into toddler and childhood...yuck.
Thursday, November 18, 2010
long week
earlier this week i got super pissed at a class because they were grumbling about not qualifying for incentive day...yea, you no even turn in your damn work and you expect to freakin' qualify for incentive...idiot.
yesterday i lost my cool (big surprise) and got into a power struggle with a kid, resulting in me YELLING at him, taking him outside, giving him the "I'm tired of bending over backward for you only to have you come in my classroom and act like a jerk" talk, and then not being able to go to sleep last night because i kept thinking about how that situation was so bad, could have easily escalated into me getting punched, and did absolutely nothing to help the situation.
i've been getting super sassy with my kids, my eyebrow is stuck in perma-up position, and i feel pissy a lot. i've had to talk to three parents this week, and two were pretty irritating.
every night this week i've forced myself to correct some papers so i don't get swamped in a mountain of revisions. last night i drank a soda late to try to make me stay up so i could correct papers...ended up lying down with caleb to put him to sleep and fell asleep myself for about an hour, resulting in nothing getting done.
tonight...i ain't doing jack. imma cruise on the internet, watch my dvr'd csi, and read my book. i didn't even cook dinner. crap, i still gotta make brynna's food, though...well, that'll be my one productive thing at home today.
Monday, November 15, 2010
no sleeps
anyways, i just put him to bed so we'll see how long it takes him to go to sleep. and we'll see what tonight holds for us...
Friday, November 12, 2010
fits and finger showing
thursday i gave my kitchen floor a good scrub down...damn it feels nice now! i don't remember when the last time i did it was but it took two passes with the green scrubby and then another wipe down to get it clean. gross. now my arms are so freakin sore it even hurts to type. lifting brynna's butt to wipe and change her is torturous. lol.
caleb is in the fit-throwing stage now. after his nap today he got up nicely, joined me in the living room, and chilled on my lap. after about 20 minutes, though, he started throwing his whiny frustration filled fit. grrr. he won't tell us what he wants and nothing will pacify him until he's ready to be regular again. i'm waiting for the day it happens when we're out in public and people look at us as "those parents" with "that kid." great.
speaking of fit-throwing...yesterday we went to eat lunch at cattle company, my mom's absolute favorite lunch time restaurant. as we were backing out of our parking space, some white folk driving in a black jeep proceeded to not pay attention and nearly hit us. i'm giving them the wth face through the window and the guy starts motioning to me for us to move even though he was the idiot not paying attention...so i proceed to throw my hands up and in my rage, i show him finger. omg. i showed him finger. what kind of idiot shows someone finger????? the passenger gets all pissed and shows me finger back. dave doesn't see me show finger and is wondering why this guy got all pissed all of a sudden. as we're leaving i tell my mom and dave, "ho, i just showed that guy finger" and i start bus' laughing cuz the sheer ridiculousness of my action hits me. seriously, i showed a guy finger with my mom and two kids in the van. soooo dumb. in this day and age, you never know what the other person is going to do. sheesh. i still have to laugh as i write this, though, cuz i don't know what in the world compelled me to show the guy the finger. lol. and then i wonder why caleb is nutts.
Friday, November 5, 2010
quick notes
- brynna's been waking up choke again to eat...and it's not like we're not letting her cry for a little bit, but she keeps crying and standing up in her crib and when you feed her she inhales her milk
- her new trick...we feed her at around 4 a.m...she goes back to sleep for a little bit in her crib then she wakes up screaming again...pick her up and throw her on our bed cuz i'm tired and want to get my last hour and a half of sleep...and she promptly goes back to sleep. sucka...just wants to sleep on the bed with us...and we're the suckas that let her!
- she's getting really good at pulling herself up to standing position now...scary, though, cuz she hasn't quite got the hang of getting back down to a sitting position. we've already seen her face plant several times.
- her squinty eye smile is soooo cute...don't know where she got it from but it's so funny.
- caleb's been throwing massive fits lately...he threw one with my mom cuz he couldn't communicate what he wanted with the basketball hoop, then threw another one with dave cuz he wanted it higher but it doesn't go any higher. he throws fits when you tell him it's time to take a bath, when you want to change his diaper, when it's time to brush teeth and go to bed...garsh...what we have to look forward to!
- in between his fit throwing, though, he's soooo much fun...talking more, playing more, interacting more, understanding more, copying more, doing more...it's just unreal!
- he once was a lover of vegetables, especially broccoli...now he eats around his vegetables. he LOVES to snack, though, so that impacts his mealtime eating. still loves milk and his doodoos have been better (well, now they're getting too hard, but before they were too runny) since we've cut out most juice.
Sunday, October 31, 2010
happy halloween
this year, i figured that brynna could just use caleb's costume from last year and caleb could wear a hapi coat...simple, cute and homemade.
so brynna was a tamago sushi and caleb was a sushi chef...it was cute because the hapi coat we had for him had sushi on it so it matched perfectly.
our plan for the day was to pick up tash and head to pearlridge ahead of time so that parking wouldn't be crazy. we ate lunch at farrel's and walked around a little bit, looking at the cute little kids. we left a little after two so the trick or treating had just started. i told dave we were NOT trick or treating with these two little ones cuz they don't eat candy and it is so obvious that we'd just be scamming candies for ourselves.
for next year i'm thinking mario and luigi...and i'm thinking that for as long as they let me, i'm going to make them match for halloween. lots of duos for them to be...i'll just copy what leish and i have done for the past ten years. mario and luigi, wilma and betty, tigger and piglet, care bears, crayons...lol.
Friday, October 29, 2010
brynbryn, 8 months
she sits up nicely now and can transition from lying to sitting very quickly. her newest thing, though, is that she is able to pull herself up to standing position on the couch and in her crib. she loves to stand up...i'm wondering if she'll start walking before caleb did (i think he was ten months when he started).
she's eating breakfast, lunch and dinner now. she's been through veggies, beef, chicken and turkey, and tomorrow she's starting her first fruits. after she's done with this last box of mixed cereal i'll probably start making her rice, meat and veggies homemade food for lunch and dinner and just use the fruits and oatmeal or rice cereal for breakfast.
can't believe my baby is such a big girl already!
Thursday, October 28, 2010
caleb, the character
he's also learned, from my mom, that when he gets an "owie" all he has to do is have it kissed and it will be pau. i noticed him making me kiss his hand the other day for something...tonight he fell off the couch and started crying so i thought he was really hurt...i go over there and see a bit of red on his forehead from hitting something when he fell...but he gives me his hand to kiss over and over and instantly his tears stop.
Sunday, October 24, 2010
daddy
Thursday, October 21, 2010
family bed
now i'm wondering if he's going to start transferring himself from his bed to ours on a nightly basis. we don't put the fence up anymore, and i don't really want to do that...but i'm not sure how i feel about him sleeping with us and growing a dependence on that. i mean, i know i slept with my mom in her bed until the 3rd grade and the only reason i moved from there was because she got a boyfriend and i was forced to move out...lol. had that not happened, i probably would have been content to sleep with my mom forever...i didn't sleep with her throughout high school, but i used to sleep with her when i was home from college and even after that....hehe. so i guess i would be hypocritical if i didn't let caleb sleep with us...but the difference is that it's an "us" and not just me. i was only sleeping with my mom so that's different, right? lol. i dunno.
anyways, last night wasn't a good sleep so i'm about ready to crash. it feels like it's been such a long week already and it's only wednesday!!!!!
Monday, October 18, 2010
more experiences
saturday morning we decided to check out the kanoelani craft fair....underwhelming. i thought there would be more games and stuff caleb could do, but there really wasn't. plus it started raining so it was crowded on the sidewalks and muddy on the grass. he played a fish game but wasn't really enthusiastic about it. we left there pretty quickly.
headed to nanding's to pick up spanish rolls (yum-may!!!!) to take to dave's parent's house later on that night.
dropped the spanish rolls off at home and headed to pearlridge to pass some time before we had to pick tash up from her psat's. cruised around a little bit. the healthy baby contest was going on at center stage but we didn't hang around there too much cuz it was so crowded. caleb looked around in razor (didn't know they had kid toys in there too) and surprisingly didn't throw a fit when we said it was time to go.
headed to punahou to pick up tash, then to bangkok chef to grab lunch. drove to kakaako, sat under a tree and ate lunch...and realized what a big boy caleb has become. he sat there, with his half a styrofoam carton as his plate and a plastic fork in his hand, contentedly eating his pad thai. when he finished what was on his plate, he asked for more ("more bite"), i gave him more noodles, and he went back to eating. doesn't seem like much, but having him be this independent is a big wow for me.
after lunch we headed over to the discovery center because we had never been there before and wanted to check it out before deciding if we wanted to purchase a yearly pass. caleb loved it. he especially loved the bus and fire truck....just sitting in the driver's seat, spinning the wheel! he liked playing with the big legos and just having the freedom to run around and touch stuff. the biggest sucky part about that place is that they don't allow strollers inside so we had to carry brynna around, which gets hella tiring after a while!
after more than an hour of playing, we told caleb it was time to go...of course, he started to pitch a fit and we distracted him by telling him to say bye-bye to everything we passed...hehe...love little tricks of distraction!
at this point i think i was just as, if not more, pooped as the kids. both of them eventually passed out on the ride home and even i ended up passing out right before we pulled into our neighborhood. it was a full day and we were anticipating dinner at dave's parent's house with his uncle and three aunties who are visiting from the philippines. luckily, though, we ended up not having to go to dinner because dave's mom had some car trouble so we just cruised at home.
today we went to church, which we're trying to do weekly. there were two little filipino boys sitting in front of us and at the beginning of church caleb was so intently watching the little boy eat his cream cracker that the mom finally turned around and handed one to him....so shame. caleb, though, was sooo happy eating his little cream cracker and drinking his milk. the older little filipino boy turned around and shook his head at brynna when she started to make noise...lol. caleb behaved at about a 6 on a scale of 10, only throwing a mini-fit once. turned out he was tired cuz on our way home he knocked out.
that was our weekend...and now i'm done...tired....two day weekends are not long enough...lol.
Thursday, October 14, 2010
mr talkative
it's amazing what a week can do...because although it didn't seem to change much for us since we were with him the whole week, my mom noticed that he is talking a lot more. thank goodness because for a while there we were getting kind of worried. everyone told me, though, that once he decided to talk, it would start flowing real quick...and it did!
one thing caleb refuses to say, though, is MOMMY. he's got "daddy" and "baba" down, but try to make him say "mommy" and he just won't. whatever. i know he's still mommy's boy!!!! lol.
cry it out
last night dave was putting her to sleep but she kept doing the crying thing once she was put down. finally he had enough of it and told me he just wanted to let her cry it out and he didn't understand why i was opposed to it. i told him i wanted to wait for a break but he said that we should just do it already....so i said okay...and i picked her up, carried her for a little bit, told her that she needed to go nene already and that we would be right in the other room, and put her into the crib.
she cried...and cried...and cried. more like yelled and screamed and screeched. she did it for about 35-40 minutes before she passed out. my mom asked me on several occasions if i wanted her to carry brynna, but i said no...we made a commitment to it and so we just gotta let her cry. it's hard to hear her screeching like that but at least she slept until 1, got up and drank milk, then slept until 4 again. we want to eliminate one feeding, but she doesn't eat enough throughout the day yet and i don't want to starve her. :-)
we'll see how tonight goes...hopefully, like caleb when we cried it out with him, she'll cry for less time tonight and it will get better and better.
Sunday, October 10, 2010
fall break, almost pau
caleb's tempermental tantrums are driving me a bit mad, but i'm told it's the age. he's so freakin bipolar (like me!) that it's not even funny. he'll be screaming his head off one minute, then smiling like it's all good the next. craaaazzzyyy. my constant reminder of my own bipolar behavior. sheesh. knowing me and bachi, i'll have a bipolar son and a sassy daughter. wonder what traits of dave will come back to bite him in the butt.
we're starting to give brynna breakfast along with lunch and dinner. she's gone through sweet potato, peas, and carrots. so far her favorite is peas...weirdo. i'm thinking after these last few containers of veggies are gone, i'm gonna start making my own...broccoli, spinach, squash, then start adding in the meats and veggies together. hopefully the more she eats, the better she'll sleep...
having these breaks makes me so thankful for both dave and i being teachers. it's nice to spend a week of straight up one on one time with the kids. well, with the kids and other family members...lol.
Thursday, September 30, 2010
sleep deprived!
last night she took a late nap (like around 8ish). i hate when she sleeps then cuz i know she'll wake up, want to play, and won't go down again until after 11. this is exactly what happened. at first i told dave if he puts her down, i'll feed her throughout the night. turns out, though, that she wanted to have screaming fits whenever dave would be carrying her, so i had to get up and tend to her. she kept falling asleep, i'd put her down, she'd fidget and start screaming her head off again. see, it's a good thing i drank a soda after dinner (which i usually don't do cuz it makes me not be able to sleep) so i wasn't totally delirious...pissed off, yes...delirious, no.
i ended up going to sleep after midnight after finally putting her down then reading some...of course, the book had to be just at the part where you gotta keep reading to figure out what's going to happen, so some of the sleep deprivation is cuz i had to continue reading.
anyways, she wakes up at 130...eats....wakes up at 330...screams...eats...wakes up again at 530...screams...eats. we put her on the bed with us a couple times but even that only helped a little bit. i dunno if she has sore stomach, is teething, or just wants to make life a little hellish, but something has to change with this sleeping pattern. i have that sore body feeling you get when you know you never sleep enough and my eyelids are hella heavy.
kay, gotta go bus' one lolo kid who dressed down when he wasn't supposed to. dang kid.
Tuesday, September 28, 2010
21 months and 7 months
anyways, here's some memories of 7 months and 21 months.
brynna is our smiley girl. she always laughs hysterically with daddy entertaining her and often laughs (though seemingly not as hard or loud) with baba (gramma) and me. she's so huggable and smooshable. she's super quick with her scooting around and when she sets her sights on something, she takes off to get it. her sleeping is pretty unpredictable (waking up three times one night, two times another...last night she finally did only one waking up, but we know that's probably just a fluke). she loves to stand and jump, and would rather be sitting up than lying down. she loves her brother and smiles happily whenever he's near her or giving her lovies. she's a cruiser...prime example of brynna is us going to costco today. she cruised in her stroller without making one sound for the entire shopping trip. no fussing, just chilling. she's eating more and more real food and has gone through peas, sweet potatoes and sweet potatoes with corn. tomorrow she starts carrots.
at 21 months caleb is starting to show his temper. okay, admittedly he's been showing his 'tude since his entrance into this world, but lately it's been manifesting itself in screeching, throwing his arms around, and even hitting us. when he doesn't get his way he starts to throw a fit. he has separation anxiety and will no longer happily go with his colmenares grandma and grandpa. he's becoming more verbal (thank GOD) and understands directions pretty well. he'll still eat pretty well, but is getting a little bit more picky now. he's not always mr cuddly, but he will sometimes come and give you a random hug and will give kisses before bed and when he's going "bye bye". a few nights ago he made us laugh (and made us irritated) because he didn't want to go to bed. he was in his room, but didn't want to stay in bed. he was up, pulled my mom's luggage out, and was playing contentedly with the zippers. later on, after putting him in bed again, i go to check him and he's lying not on his bed, but on my mom's. i walk into the room to move him back and see that not only is he on her bed, but he also has the tv on...watching roots cuz that's the dvd my mom had in. lol!
these two little ones keep me on my toes, keep me busy, and keep me tired...but also keep me smiling!!!
Wednesday, September 22, 2010
so damn tired
i was up and correcting papers last night and feeling pretty happy with what i got accomplished. went to bed about 12...and i should have known that no sooner would i fall asleep but brynna would be up and wanting to eat. she woke up again at 130...grrr. then again at 4...double grrr.
i think i'm going to sleep now. if i wake up early and correct papers, good for me. if i don't, too bad, so sad.
Tuesday, September 14, 2010
turds
then i went to bocha caleb and as i was washing my hair, i smelled something kinda funny. he was squatting down and i thought maybe he just made a fut cuz from my vantage point i couldn't see anything. lo and behold, i look behind him and what do i see??? a fat 4 inch long turd. sooooo gross. yelled to dave and my mom...dave got there first and had to pick it up. lol.
adventures of parenting, i suppose.
Saturday, September 11, 2010
sleepless nights...grrr...
caleb, on the other hand, i expect to sleep through the night. this past week there have been several nights where he wakes up crying and wants to drink water and have someone sleep with him. fine, whatever, separation anxiety phase, whatever. but last night....boy did i want to strangle the dang kid! he woke up at 3, BEFORE we had to wake up for brynna, who slept really well last night. i went to him, climbed in his bed, and thought that would be it. NOOOOO. he's fussing and whimpering and making the irritating fussy-ass sounds of his and grabbing my hand to take me out of the room. fine. we go out and he wants water. fine. go back to bed and he's still making his fussy-ass sounds. i swear, we were up until almost freakin' six before he passed out on me on the couch after wailing for a little bit. the shitty part was that he didn't want dave....so in order to keep a somewhat peaceful household in the wee hours of the morning, i had to stay with him. let me tell you, i know this isn't right, but he got some slaps on his ass because i was so pissed at his freakin' antics. and he has the nerve to give me the remote control and ask for oobi....yea right. in fact, he isn't watching any oobi today at all. if that's why he was up, cuz he wanted to watch oobi, then something's wrong and he needs to break that bad habit.
anyways, needless to say i was a big huge grouch and needed some extra sleep after dave, brynna and my mom were up. frick, i know i'm going to catch a major down sometime today. right now the three of them are napping but i don't feel like sleeping just yet.
at least i got vacuuming, laundry, and caleb's haircut out of the way...
Wednesday, September 8, 2010
long time no see
went to maui for the long weekend and spent time at grandpa's house. the kids were good on the plane, this being the first time on the plane without gramma. they didn't let us sit together (can't have two lap kids in the same row they said), so i had to sit in the middle of the three-peeps side. i was worried as heck but caleb actually was able to sit still for a longer time with strangers beside us. dave sat on the two-peeps side with brynna and of course she did well. being on the plane makes me anxious and i freakin lost my damn camera. oh well. at least we got there and back safe and sound so it's all good.
while we were there we slept with the kids....dave slept with one and i slept with the other in different rooms. sleeping with them sucks. i love cuddling them, but being kicked, rolled into, and smooshed into a little bitty space while they roll freely does not make for good sleeps. i much rather sleep with the dragon-snoring hubby than the space taking kids!!!!
took caleb to the maui ocean center. he enjoyed it thoroughly...for the first fifteen minutes. after that he was more concerned with getting milk and being carried. he was tired so we hurried through the rest and headed out. overall, it was a good experience, which i don't have pictures of except on my phone. oh well.
caleb is saying more words...i haven't written it down and counted, but i think he's past his 21 month goal of 20 words. i know i shouldn't compare him to other kids and that he'll be fine, but it's hard to not compare. oh well...he's happy and healthy and not missing any milestones so i guess it's all good. we say that he's french because he keeps saying words with "la" in front of it. or making up words and having "la" in front. for example, water is "la-ba-le". button is "la-butt". today he asked my mom for a bite of food and said "la-bite." don't ask me where this comes from.
brynna's first two teeth broke the gums! we were waiting and waiting because she was sooo drooly and gumming everything. she didn't seem fussy or nutts or anything so i'm hoping the rest of the teeth won't bother her too much either.
Thursday, August 26, 2010
firsts
Sunday, August 22, 2010
long weekend....long week ahead!
yesterday we had a birthday party to go to. i trip on one year old birthday parties...so much to do!!!! caleb had fun running around and only fell once, so that was good. he jumped in the bouncer, ate a bag of popcorn (kay, half a bag, but still...he eats popcorn like me...not eating, inhaling!), ate some cake with coconut on it (blech). he had no attention span for the magic show or the slide show...of course. brynbryn was good for the most part...slept, ate, made a big doodoo, just chilled like her usual chill self. after that we headed from schofield to manoa so he got a little bit of a nap in on the drive. picked up tash, headed to whole foods and spent a nice chunk of change for the pesto ingredients (worth it, but still...).
today caleb went to church with grandma and grandpa c while i vacuumed and wiped down everything in our bedroom. yesterday we noticed that brynna seems to have allergies or is catching a cold...she had red, watery eyes which she kept rubbing and she kept sneezing. today she wasn't as bad, but still rubbing her eyes a lot. i figured cleaning could only help the situation so we'll see. washed our bedding and got rid of a couple bags of trash and a couple bags of donations.
this week should be interesting. tomorrow evening is caleb's first families for real class at pches. we don't really know what it's going to be like but the range is from 6 mos to 4 years so that should be interesting. we're taking caleb to this first class, but after this one i think the grandmas, or at least grandma c, will be taking him instead. we'll see. tuesday i have class, which hopefully isn't listening to peeps just read from the same handouts that we already got. wednesday tash has a volleyball game at roosevelt so we'll see how brynna is and if we want to go watch. thursday is my mom's bday, and then we'll all be happy to see friday again!
Friday, August 20, 2010
pesto!!!
my first attempt at using it will be to make pesto tomorrow...i'm going to go to whole foods, buy me some basil, nuts, parm cheese and garlic, and try to make ina's recipe. we'll see how it goes. i'm really freakin' excited!!!!
Tuesday, August 17, 2010
still awake...
so it's 530 pm no and i'm tired. i just ate dinner, gonna bocha caleb when he's pau eat, and hopefully we'll be in bed at around 8. this week's killer, even if it's a short week. yesterday and tomorrow i'm teaching with leish in pd 5 avid, today was a no prep day, and thursday we have team meeting during pd 5 and tutoring after school...so it's a no prep week...nutts. oh well, it makes the week go by faster!
more?
i'm sure i could tell him no and not feed him and he wouldn't starve. but i also know that if i'm hungry, it pisses me off if i can't eat. i don't want him to think he has to sneak food or something like that.
as i'm writing this, dave is strapping him into his eating seat cuz he wants to eat rice. he also drinks about a gallon of milk a week.
seriously, i dunno how much is too much.
Sunday, August 15, 2010
piss me off
this morning i was soooo pissed off because brynna woke us up at 445 and didn't want to drink or go back to sleep. put her on the bed with us where she proceeded to kick and kick and kick...and she kicks hard so there was no sleeping for dave and me. finally i took her out in the living room so dave could sleep some...one of us had to get some sleep. after a while she was not content to lie by herself so i had to pick her up...and i was so freakin' tired i tried to make her content by just sitting her up while i lie down but she wasn't having it. she made me think she was going to sleep a couple times, but when i put her down she started crying. i definitely did not want caleb waking up earlier than necessary, so i didn't want her crying loud. finally i flung her on the bed and told dave to take her. i got to rest for a bit more, but not very long.
she's been waking up at least once, sometimes twice a night. it sucks royally. her problem is that she's not an eater like caleb, so she doesn't take in enough during the day to hold her through the night...and you can't force her to drink. i'm really, really, really hoping that doctor will let me start giving her rice cereal after her six month check up and that will help the sleeping.
she really is a very good girl, but this lack of sleep is making me nutts.
Friday, August 13, 2010
two weeks
maui last weekend was nice...caleb, brynna, dave and i all slept in one room so that was interesting, but not as bad as i thought it would be. caleb enjoyed gramma rose's house because he could run around and reach the doorknobs. lol. he seemed to get along with troy okay, and observed many of the things he was doing. both were fairly good on the plane ride there and back, though brynna did cry a bit before we landed on maui and caleb couldn't sit still to save his life.
mommyhood and work is tiring, but so far it's been okay. i haven't cooked much since we've been back from maui, but i'll get back into rhythm this week. if brynna would sleep through the night it would be very helpful, but no such luck. last night she freakin' woke up 2 or 3 times...i'm so tired i can't even remember what it was.
caleb is still obsessed with oobi. he pinches his finger and thumb together to "sign" oobi, and brings you the remote and points to the list button to indicate that he wants you to replay one of the dvr'd oobis. my poor mom watches oobi many times throughout the day. i gotta get him hooked on something that's at least more educational.
the parking is finally freakin' finished in our area. goodness gracious it took long enough.
yesterday there wasn't water...a pipe busted or something. plus we had open house so more so that sucked. luckily, though, we didn't have to take the kids to go bocha at dave's parent's house cuz it came on right before we got home from open house. thank GOD.
i'm so all over the place in this post that i'm irritating myself. i'll write when my brain is actually working...though who knows when that will be...lol.
Thursday, August 5, 2010
LONG week
needless to say, i have yet to wake up early to exercise. lol.
i think doing these activities was even more tiring than actually teaching. acting like i'm all happy and into these bonding activities tired me out completely. if i had to work at the disney store and act happy all day i think i might go mento. i look forward to actually teaching next week.
last grumble...having an inclusion class and a pins/sped class and lots of other "involved" parents makes for many, many meetings. we had one on tuesday, another one today, one more on monday, another on thursday, and then another on friday. sheesh. i can just imagine when the actual iep meetings start rolling around. nutts.
caleb had a rough day today...cranky lil bugger. for some reason he didn't want to go to sleep last night, nor did he want to take a nap today. finally right before we got home from work he fell asleep.
his new obsession is oobi on nick jr. i must say, it is kind of a cute show. for some reason he MUST stand directly in front of the tv....like not even a foot away from it. he's mesmerized by the hands with eyes on them. ooobi, oobi oobi oobi oobi...he's got a lot to see, he's got a lot to do, and he's always with you....uma's his sis, he's big, she's small, kinko is his very best friend, grampoo loves them all. can you tell i've watched it a lot?
this trip home this weekend is going to be interesting. i pray brynna and caleb do good on the plane...coming back on monday so we'll miss one day of school. then we have open house on thursday...yay. two day weekends are just too short. lol.
Friday, July 30, 2010
the last ten...
even if i get rid of that ten, though, i'm sure i'm still gonna have the pooch problem. i can see remnants of my abs, though they're covered with a layer of fat now. it was kind of funny cuz even when i was pregnant, i could see the shape of the top two "bricks"....you can still see it, but it's just not the same....lol. standing up and looking in the mirror is okay, but i have to strategically use my pants to cover up the pooch when i sit down...lol.
oh well...didn't attain my goal to get back to pre-pregnancy shape before school started...but i'm not willing to give up yummy food so i'll just have to live with it. at least when school starts again i won't have direct access to food and so maybe that will help...i swear, when i'm at home, i eat continuously throughout the day and still feel like eating even more! at least when i'm at school, i'm distracted by other things to take my mind off the craving for food! plus, walking from my classroom to a-building will at least give me some form of exercise! hehe.
yay for sleeping!
last night we put her to sleep shirtless because she was so hot. i think she's also ready to put herself to sleep. last night we put her down before she fell asleep and she whimpered a little but found her thumb and went to sleep. today she was getting tired-fussy, so i put her in her crib and in about 20 minutes (with some crying) she soothed herself to sleep. we'll continue with this...i remember when we did the cry it out method with caleb...that sucker didn't cry, he WAILED and for long periods of time! lol.
Monday, July 26, 2010
sucky sleeps and school's starting!
while we were in sacramento, she started waking up one or two times, sometimes not going back to sleep promptly.
since we've been back from sacramento, brynna is waking up 2-3 times a night...
WTH???????
needless to say, dave and i are tired. thankfully caleb is not adding to the mix of ridiculosity with sleeping.
we don't really know what to do with brynna. last night she went to bed around 8, slept until 12, got up, ate, burped and went back to sleep. then she got up again at 210, ate a little bit more, didn't want to burp and went back to sleep. at 315 she's up again. it's really a blur as to what happened between 315 and 550, but at 550 dave fed her again.
the previous night was much like last night.
i went back to my old blogs about caleb and at this point he was waking up at least once a night to eat. at 6 months (brynna's 5 months now) we started feeding him rice cereal and then solids. we also started letting him cry himself to sleep at bedtime and cry himself back to sleep when he woke up in the night. the thing with caleb, though, was that i was very sure that he was getting enough to eat during the day to allow that. brynna, on the other hand, is not a good eater like him (though her legs make it look like she is!), so i worry that if we did that to her, it wouldn't work.
i dunno. we'll see how it goes until her 6 month appointment and ask doctor what he suggests then. of course, in one month's time we'll be freakin' zombies if her sleeping pattern continues.
Friday, July 23, 2010
back to sku
i'm still not sure how my time management is going to go with the two kids and school. i think when i went back to work after caleb i was a little bit more apprehensive about it, though. this time i guess i have the experience of knowing that i'll be stressed and tired, but it will all work itself out somehow. my priorities are different, and sometimes i'm going to fail at doing everything i want or need to do. i have to remember to pace myself and keep my number one priority, my family, at the forefront of all decisions i make. i can't take on too much (though i know i inevitably will) and i have to sometimes say no to things i would have said yes to previously because i have two little ones who need my time and attention. i also have to trust that just cuz i'm not doing it, doesn't mean it's not going to be done well. it might be done differently than i would have done it and i just have to live with that. lol. easier said than done, but necessary.
i'm thinking this is generally what a day will look like once we're back in school...
530a - wake up...exercise for 2o minutes (hehe...we'll see if this actually happens)
600a - wake dave up, start putting together our lunch and cups
615a - get ready
700a - leave the house
330p - leave school
4-5 - play
500p - make dinner
600p - eat
7-8 - bocha and play
830p - put kids to bed
after that - plan and grade
no later than 11 - pass out
of course, knowing kids, this is a VERY loose schedule, subject to change based on the whims of caleb and brynna. leaving school at 330 everyday is something i hope we can accomplish...i know that there will be days when we have to stay later, but for the most part, i'm gonna try to stick to this because once i start letting us stay later and later, it's going to throw off our schedule even more and shift my priorities away from my family. plus too, my mom is gonna be so tired with the two kids everyday that she'll need the break by that time!
i'm excited to be back in the classroom but i know it's going to be a big challenge. caleb already loves gramma most (lol) but i think i'll be sad when it's both brynna AND caleb wanting gramma all the time. hehe. my mom will be sad too cuz they won't give her any time alone unless she locks herself in the bedroom. hehe. that's where caleb is right now, actually...with gramma in the bedroom. i'm going to go steal him...
Monday, July 19, 2010
back with my babies!!!
i knew it would be hard, but it was even harder than i expected. we left caleb first, and as i walked to the van, i seriously cried...bawled...hyperventilate kine cry. we then took brynna to dave's parent's house so that his dad could drive us to the airport. after leaving brynna, i had to stifle my crying since we were in the car with dave's dad and i didn't want him to feel weird.
the week went by slowly, of course, but at least the conference itself was good, got me excited to be an avid teacher, and taught me different strategies to use. every time i looked at my phone, and the picture of brynna and caleb on my screen, i got sad all over again. thank goodness i at least had dave there with me...if i was by myself, i think i would have been a lot worse!!!!
of course, though, here at home caleb was living it up with his one on one attention from my mom. he sometimes said hi to me on the phone, but more often was engaged in other activities and couldn't be bothered with talking to me...lol. brynna had some rough nights but overall was okay...at least she didn't get sick!!!
coming home to them was the best thing ever...being able to smoosh my face into their necks and smother them with kisses!!! caleb seemed more interested in seeing brynna than us at first, but i think he is happy to have us back so there's triple the attention. brynna was sleeping when we got to her, but she woke up and gave us her smiles and laughs and it was all good.
now we have one week to live it up with them and spend time together before it's back to work time.
Thursday, July 8, 2010
sacramento curse
okay, so caleb got the chickenpox vaccine when he turned one...but brynna hasn't gotten it yet cuz they don't give it until one. so now i'm freaking out and googling everything i can find about shingles, its contagiousness, and chickenpox symptoms.
i just wanna cry.
so far, from what i've read, shingles is contagious through the blisters only...not through breathing on or sneezing near a child. i'm just worried, though...i mean, she's just a little baby whose immune system is not strong. if she gets chickenpox when i'm in sacramento, i'm going to crazy with worrying and being sad and not being able to take care of her.
this completely reminds me of last summer, when dave went to sacramento and i was home with the flu. i felt like crap, and more than that, i was soooo worried that i could have infected caleb. now i'm going to be worried until the incubation time period passes to see if brynna's been infected.
i know it's not dave's fault...but of course, my worry turns into irritation and frustration and it's taken out on him. goodness gracious. i'm waiting for brynna's doctor to call me to let me know what course of action to take...
Wednesday, July 7, 2010
freakin' loud
Tuesday, July 6, 2010
last week!!!!
Monday, July 5, 2010
peace and quiet, please
she gets startled when there's a loud sound, be it a sneeze, caleb's yelling, or the tv. oftentimes she'll start to cry hysterically when she gets scared. her sad face is sooooo sad.
brynna doesn't like to be jostled when eating.
caleb likes to climb up on the couch when we're feeding her...and not just onto the couch, but into the littlest space next to you or behind you. he often bangs her head in the process...and she does NOT appreciate it. she will start to scream angrily, which is not her usual temperament.
even when dave and i get into bed and she's sleeping in her crib...she startles a little and moves around.
when brynna wakes up at 4 a.m. and it's peaceful and quiet, she'll quickly drink her milk in about ten minutes and go back to sleep. when she has to eat during the day and there's all kinds of ruckus going on, she will take her time eating, often stopping and having to burp and taking an entire hour's time before she finishes her bottle.
i think she may just enjoy her time at grandma and grandpa colmenares' house without the loud little boy disturbing her.
scaredy cat
today we bought him a motorized toothbrush because it was on sale at longs. dave tried to brush his teeth with it tonight...and he cried. screamed and cried and held on tight cuz he was so scared.
when the vacuum cleaner goes on, he gets scared. he used to run and cry. now he sits on the couch and starts getting all anxious when i get near him.
when the blow dryer goes on, he gets scared. he doesn't cry, but will run away if i blow him with it.
he's obviously scared of the doctor and dentist. screams bloody murder even when they aren't doing anything.
he's scared of the car wash. cries and gets all nutts when we go through it.
i'm not sure how to relieve his fears....he's just an overall emotionally charged guy...very excitable, stubborn, and fearful. and since he's so damn loud, his emotional outbursts are that much more vivid.
of course, his happy times are that much more happy too, though. not an even-keeled kind of guy. lol. just like his mommy.
Tuesday, June 29, 2010
dancing shoes
right now he's obsessed with wearing dave's basketball shoes and my tennis shoes. he will sit for a good ten minutes (LONG time for him) trying to figure out how the shoelaces work. he's actually getting pretty good at walking around with dave's size 11 shoes...it's soooo funny.
caleb 18 months
screamed when he got weighed and got his height taken. screamed when his temperature was taken. screamed when i took off his clothes. screamed and held on for dear life while the nurse asked me questions. screamed while doctor did developmental tests with him...impressed doctor by screaming while stacking blocks...lol. screamed as doctor checked him out. screamed when he got his one shot. screamed, screamed and screamed some more. went out in the hallway to go down the elevator...happily pressed the button and resumed his cute, normal self. garsh.
seriously, his head was sweaty and so was i from holding him. it is NOT hot in there.
anyways, he is now in the 10-25th percentile in height and weight. he started off a big boy, now he's a normal asian boy...sucks. oh well. he's 30 5/8 inches and weighs 24 lbs. what did i expect when i contribute a whopping 4 ft 9 inches to the poor kid. please let him be taller than me...lol!!!
we'll have to monitor his words...if at 21 months he doesn't have a good 20 words, we may see a speech person. doctor said with him it's nothing to worry about since he understands so much...his speech will come quickly when he's ready to talk. i'm sure we'll be wishing for him to shut up after he starts, just like my family wished for me to shut up when i started talking...lol.
his new favorite thing to do is mess the freakin house up. mess up my canned goods cabinet, mess up all his toys and books, mess up anything and everything. if you stop by my house randomly, you'll see the biggest mess ever. i can just imagine what this house will look like when brynna's his age and he's 2 1/2.